P/V 工具

  • 记录拟静态压力-容量曲线的呼吸力学测量方法
  • 快速方便评估ARDS病人肺的可复张性
  • 采用简单安全的方式实施肺复张
  • 能与食道压监测技术联合使用

适用于诊断和肺复张的保护性通气

保护性通气工具 (P/V 工具) 采用呼吸力学方法记录准静态压力/容量曲线(肺膨胀和收缩曲线均显示出来)。 之后,该数据可被分析以确定肺复张性和将采用的肺复张策略。

P/V 工具还可用于肺复张策略,方法是施加控制性肺膨胀,一旦完成,P/V 工具将显示经有效扩张的肺的容量。P/V 工具对 ARDS 病人特别有帮助,因为适度的肺复张和正确将 PEEP 设为抗塌陷力非常重要。

P/V 工具结合食道压力测量 有助于肺复张的滴定,可恰当设置 PEEP 和潮气量为病人充分通气,而不对肺造成损伤  (Talmor 2008)。

客户对 P/V 工具的评价

Ross Freebairn 博士

Medical Director Intensive Care Services

重症监护内科主任
Hawke’s Bay Hospital,Hastings,新西兰

我们利用 P/V 工具提供了一个产生可重复肺复张的方法,任何人经培训后只需简单地按下按钮就可使用它。

Camille Neville

呼吸科临床教师

美国佛罗里达州奥兰多佛罗里达医院

我们建议呼吸治疗师给病人接上呼吸机后立即使用 P/V 工具,以获得最佳 PEEP。 治疗师发现它很有用,尤其是对重病病人。

Ken Hargett

呼吸治疗主任

美国德克萨斯州休斯敦卫理公会医院

对于几乎所有镇静下来以待插管的呼吸机病人,我们使用 P/V 工具来确定初始 PEEP 设置。 P/V 工具的肺复张这部分功能,我们也用得很多,特别是患有反复肺不张的病人。

科学依据

准静态 P/V 曲线

  • 在绘制呼吸系统的静态 PV 曲线时,P/V 工具相当于 CPAP (Piacentini 2009)。
  • 采用保护性通气,包括基于 LIP 设置 PEEP,存活率高于传统通气 (Amato 1998)。
  • 对于 ARDS 病人,呼吸系统的线性顺应性 (Crs) 与肺复张性相关 (Veillard-Baron 2003)。
  • PV 曲线的延迟程度可用于床旁肺复张性评估 (Demory 2008)。

通过控制性肺膨胀实施肺复张策略

  • 在 ARDS 早期,绝大多数病人的肺部是可复张的 (Borges 2006)。
  • 在控制性肺膨胀过程中,肺复张大多发生于前十秒期间 (Arnal 2011)。

P/V 工具的工作原理

P/V 工具策略可在病人连机且病人设置保持不变的情况下执行。 可在任何时候恢复正常通气。

准静态 P/V 曲线

P/V 工具记录低流量状态 (2 cmH2O/s) 下肺的压力—容量关系。 呼吸回路被线性增压至操作员设定的压力目标值。 当压力达到目标值时,压力回降至初始值。生成的曲线可用于分析:

  • 膨胀压力/容量曲线的下拐点
  • 膨胀压力/容量曲线的线性顺应性
  • 延迟(两条曲线的容量差)

控制性肺膨胀肺复张术

呼吸回路按操作员设定的升速被加压至操作员设定的目标压力,引起的容量变化被记录下来。当压力达到目标值时,操作员设定的暂停程序被执行。 暂停之后,压力被线性释放至操作员设定的呼气末正压水平。暂停期间流量的积分即为肺复张容积。

P/V 工具的可用性

P/V 工具可作为HAMILTON-G5 呼吸机的选配件和HAMILTON-S1呼吸机的标准件提供。

下载资料

Brochures

P/V Tool brochure

PDF / 1.2 MB

PN 689202.03

EN

White papers

Lung recruitment maneuvers

PDF / 3.7 MB

ELO20160409S.01

EN

Bibliographies

Lung recruitment bibliography

PDF / 876.1 KB

ELO20160609S.01

ZH

Bibliographies

P/V curves bibliography

PDF / 717.4 KB

ELO20160610S.00

ZH

User reports

P/V Tool in ARDS

PDF / 298.5 KB

2013

EN

Michael Bingman RRT, Kelly Cresci RRT, Jason Stamm MD, FCCP, Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, PA

White papers

Utilizing slow pressure-volume loops to determine optimal PEEP and improve patient outcomes

PDF / 839.2 KB

ELO20150313N

EN

更多下载

参考文献

Amato MB, Barbas CS, Medeiros DM, Magaldi RB, Schettino GP, Lorenzi-Filho G, Kairalla RA, Deheinzelin D, Munoz C, Oliveira R, Takagaki TY, Carvalho CR. Effect of a protective-ventilation strategy on mortality in the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 1998 Feb 5;338(6):347-54

Arnal JM, Paquet J, Wysocki M, Demory D, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Optimal duration of a sustained inflation recruitment maneuver in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. 2011 Oct;37(10):1588-94.

Borges JB, Okamoto VN, Matos GF, Caramez MP, Arantes PR, Barros F, Souza CE, Victorino JA, Kacmarek RM, Barbas CS, Carvalho CR, Amato MB. Reversibility of lung collapse and hypoxemia in early acute respiratory distress syndrome. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2006 Aug 1;174(3):268-78.

Demory D, Arnal JM, Wysocki M, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Recruitability of the lung estimated by the pressure volume curve hysteresis in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. 2008 Nov;34(11):2019-25

Grasso S, Mascia L, Del Turco M, Malacarne P, Giunta F, Brochard L, Slutsky AS, Marco Ranieri V. Effects of recruiting maneuvers in patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome ventilated with protective ventilatory strategy. Anesthesiology. 2002 Apr;96(4):795-802. 

Piacentini E, Wysocki M, Blanch L. Intensive Care Med. A new automated method versus continuous positive airway pressure method for measuring pressure-volume curves in patients with acute lung injury. 2009 Mar;35(3):565-70

Talmor D, Sarge T, Malhotra A, O'Donnell CR, Ritz R, Lisbon A, Novack V, Loring SH. Mechanical ventilation guided by esophageal pressure in acute lung injury. N Engl J Med. 2008 Nov 13;359(20):2095-104

Vieillard-Baron A, Prin S, Chergui K, Page B, Beauchet A, Jardin F. Early patterns of static pressure-volume loops in ARDS and their relations with PEEP-induced recruitment. Intensive Care Med. 2003 Nov;29(11):1929-35

Villar J, Kacmarek RM, Pérez-Méndez L, Aguirre-Jaime A. A high positive end-expiratory pressure, low tidal volume ventilatory strategy improves outcome in persistent acute respiratory distress syndrome: a randomized, controlled trial. Crit Care Med. 2006 May;34(5):1311-8

P/V Tool

  • Respiratory mechanics maneuver that records a quasi-static pressure/volume curve
  • Easy to assess recruitability of ARDS patients
  • Simple and safe way to perform lung recruitment maneuvers
  • Can be combined with esophageal pressure measurement

Protective ventilation tool for diagnosis and recruitment

The Protective Ventilation Tool (P/V Tool) performs a respiratory mechanics maneuver that records a quasi-static pressure/volume curve showing both the inflation and deflation curves. This data can then be analyzed to determine the lung recruitability and recruitment strategy to apply.

The P/V Tool can also be used for lung recruitment maneuvers by applying sustained inflation. Once completed, the P/V Tool displays the volume of the lung effectively recruited. The P/V Tool is particularly helpful for ARDS patients, as appropriate lung recruitment and correct setting of PEEP as an anti-derecruiting force are critical.

The combination of P/V Tool and esophageal pressure measurement is useful for titrating the recruitment maneuver, allowing for the appropriate setting of PEEP and tidal volume to adequately ventilate the patient without injuring the lungs (Talmor 2008).

What customers say about the P/V Tool

Dr. Ross Freebairn

Medical Director Intensive Care Services Hawke’s Bay Hospital, Hastings, New Zealand

We have used the P/V Tool to provide a mechanism of producing a repeatable recruitment maneuver, which can be done by anybody trained in the simple art of pushing buttons.

Camille Neville

Clinical Educator for the Respiratory Department

Florida Hospital, Orlando (FL), USA

We recommend our respiratory therapists to use the P/V Tool as soon as they put the patient on the ventilator to obtain optimum PEEP. The therapists find it very helpful, especially on the sicker patients.

Ken Hargett

Director Respiratory Care

The Methodist Hospital, Houston (TX), USA

We use the P/V Tool to determine initial PEEP settings on almost all ventilator patients once they have been sedated for the intubation. We also use the recruitment portion of the P/V Tool a lot, particularly for patients who are having repeated atelectasis.

Scientific evidence

Quasi static P/V curve

  • The P/V Tool is equivalent to the CPAP method for tracing static PV curves of the respiratory system (Piacentini 2009).
  • Survival is higher with protective ventilation, including PEEP set based on LIP, than conventional ventilation (Amato 1998).
  • In ARDS patients, linear compliance of the respiratory system (Crs) is correlated with recruitability (Veillard-Baron 2003).
  • Hysteresis of the PV curve can be used to assess the recruitability of the lung at the bedside (Demory 2008).

Recruitment maneuver by sustained inflation

  • In early ARDS it was possible to open the lung in the majority of patients (Borges 2006).
  • During a sustained inflation, most of the recruitment occured during the first 10 seconds (Arnal 2011).

How the P/V Tool works

P/V Tool maneuvers can be performed with the patient connected and the patient settings intact. Normal ventilation can be resumed at any time.

Quasi-static P/V curve

The P/V Tool records the pressure-volume relation of the lungs at low flow conditions (2 cmH2O/s). The breathing circuit is pressurized linearly to the operator-set pressure target. When the pressure reaches the target, pressure is reduced back to the starting pressure. The resulting curves can be used to analyze:

  • The lower inflection point of the inflation pressure/volume curve
  • The linear compliance of the inflation pressure/volume curve
  • The hysteresis (the difference in volume between the two curves)

Sustained inflation recruitment maneuver

The breathing circuit is pressurized linearly to the operator-set target pressure at the operator-set ramp speed, and the resulting volume changes are recorded. When the pressure reaches the target, an operator-set pause is executed. After the pause, pressure is released linearly to the operator-set end-PEEP level. The integration of the flow during the pause is the recruited volume.

Availability of the P/V Tool

IntelliCuff is available as an option on the HAMILTON-G5 mechanical ventilator and is standard on the HAMILTON-S1.


Downloads

P/V Tool brochure

EN / PN 689202.03

PDF / 1.2 MB

P/V Tool in ARDS

EN / 2013

PDF / 298.5 KB

Downloads

References

Amato MB, Barbas CS, Medeiros DM, Magaldi RB, Schettino GP, Lorenzi-Filho G, Kairalla RA, Deheinzelin D, Munoz C, Oliveira R, Takagaki TY, Carvalho CR. Effect of a protective-ventilation strategy on mortality in the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 1998 Feb 5;338(6):347-54

Arnal JM, Paquet J, Wysocki M, Demory D, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Optimal duration of a sustained inflation recruitment maneuver in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. 2011 Oct;37(10):1588-94.

Borges JB, Okamoto VN, Matos GF, Caramez MP, Arantes PR, Barros F, Souza CE, Victorino JA, Kacmarek RM, Barbas CS, Carvalho CR, Amato MB. Reversibility of lung collapse and hypoxemia in early acute respiratory distress syndrome. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2006 Aug 1;174(3):268-78.

Demory D, Arnal JM, Wysocki M, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Recruitability of the lung estimated by the pressure volume curve hysteresis in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. 2008 Nov;34(11):2019-25

Grasso S, Mascia L, Del Turco M, Malacarne P, Giunta F, Brochard L, Slutsky AS, Marco Ranieri V. Effects of recruiting maneuvers in patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome ventilated with protective ventilatory strategy. Anesthesiology. 2002 Apr;96(4):795-802. 

Piacentini E, Wysocki M, Blanch L. Intensive Care Med. A new automated method versus continuous positive airway pressure method for measuring pressure-volume curves in patients with acute lung injury. 2009 Mar;35(3):565-70

Talmor D, Sarge T, Malhotra A, O'Donnell CR, Ritz R, Lisbon A, Novack V, Loring SH. Mechanical ventilation guided by esophageal pressure in acute lung injury. N Engl J Med. 2008 Nov 13;359(20):2095-104

Vieillard-Baron A, Prin S, Chergui K, Page B, Beauchet A, Jardin F. Early patterns of static pressure-volume loops in ARDS and their relations with PEEP-induced recruitment. Intensive Care Med. 2003 Nov;29(11):1929-35

Villar J, Kacmarek RM, Pérez-Méndez L, Aguirre-Jaime A. A high positive end-expiratory pressure, low tidal volume ventilatory strategy improves outcome in persistent acute respiratory distress syndrome: a randomized, controlled trial. Crit Care Med. 2006 May;34(5):1311-8