P/V Tool®

  • Manœuvre de mécanique respiratoire qui enregistre une courbe pression/volume quasi-statique
  • Capacité de recrutement facile à évaluer chez des patients SDRA
  • Moyen simple et sûr d'effectuer des manœuvres de recrutement pulmonaire
  • Possibilité de combinaison avec la mesure de pression œsophagienne

Outil de ventilation protectrice pour le diagnostic et le recrutement

La fonction P/V Tool (Protective Ventilation Tool) effectue une manœuvre de mécanique respiratoire qui enregistre une courbe pression/volume quasi-statique, affichant à la fois les courbes inspiratoire et expiratoire. Ces données peuvent ensuite être analysées pour déterminer la capacité de recrutement pulmonaire et la stratégie de recrutement à appliquer.

Il est possible d'utiliser aussi la fonction P/V Tool pour les manœuvres de recrutement pulmonaire en appliquant un maintien de l'inspiration. Une fois l'action terminée, la fonction P/V Tool affiche le volume du poumon efficacement recruté La fonction P/V Tool est particulièrement utile pour les patients souffrant de SDRA, dans la mesure où un recrutement pulmonaire approprié et un réglage correct de la PEP comme force anti-dérecrutement sont essentiels.

L'association de la fonction P/V Tool et de la mesure de pression œsophagienne est utile pour le titrage de la manœuvre de recrutement et pour régler correctement la PEP et le volume courant afin de ventiler le patient sans créer de lésion pulmonaire (Talmor 2008).

Ce que disent les clients de la fonction P/V Tool

Dr. Ross Freebairn

Medical Director Intensive Care Services

Directeur médical du service de soins intensifs, Hawke’s Bay Hospital, Hastings, Nouvelle-Zélande

Nous avons utilisé la fonction P/V Tool pour pouvoir créer une manœuvre de recrutement reproductible, réalisable par toute personne formée à la simple manipulation des boutons.

Camille Neville

Formatrice - Service des soins respiratoires

Florida Hospital, Orlando (Floride), États-Unis

Nous recommandons à nos thérapeutes respiratoires d'utiliser la fonction P/V Tool dès qu'ils mettent le patient sous ventilateur pour obtenir une PEP optimale. Les thérapeutes trouvent cette fonction très utile, surtout sur les patients les plus malades.

Ken Hargett

Directeur de l'unité de soins respiratoires

Methodist Hospital, Houston (Texas), États-Unis

Nous utilisons la fonction P/V Tool pour déterminer les réglages de PEP de départ sur quasiment tous les patients sous ventilateur, dès lors qu'ils ont reçu une sédation pour l'intubation. Nous utilisons également beaucoup l'option de recrutement de la fonction P/V Tool, en particulier pour les patients qui souffrent d'atélectasie répétée.

Expérience scientifique

Courbe P/V quasi-statique

  • La fonction P/V Tool est équivalente à la méthode CPAP pour le tracé des courbes PV statiques du système respiratoire (Piacentini 2009).
  • Le taux de survie est plus important avec une ventilation protectrice, notamment avec la PEP basée sur le PII, qu'avec une ventilation classique (Amato 1998).
  • Chez les patients souffrant de SDRA, la compliance linéaire du système respiratoire (Crs) est mise en corrélation avec la capacité de recrutement (Veillard-Baron 2003).
  • L'hystérésis de la courbe PV peut être utilisée pour évaluer la capacité de recrutement pulmonaire au chevet (Demory 2008).

Manœuvre de recrutement par maintien de l'inspiration

  • En cas de SDRA précoce, il était possible d'ouvrir le poumon chez la plupart des patients (Borges 2006).
  • Pendant le maintien de l'inspiration, la majorité du recrutement avait lieu au cours des 10 premières secondes (Arnal 2011).

Fonctionnement de la fonction P/V Tool

Les manœuvres P/V Tool peuvent être réalisées lorsque le patient est connecté et que les réglages patient sont intacts. La ventilation normale peut être reprise à tout moment.

Courbe P/V quasi-statique

La fonction P/V Tool enregistre le rapport pression/volume des poumons dans des conditions de débit bas (2 cmH2O/s). Le circuit respiratoire est pressurisé de façon linéaire jusqu’à la pression cible définie par l’utilisateur. Lorsque la pression atteint la cible, elle redescend ensuite à la pression de départ. Les courbes générées peuvent être utilisées pour analyser :

  • le point d’inflexion inférieur de la courbe volume/pression inspiratoire.
  • la compliance linéaire de la courbe pression/volume inspiratoire.
  • l'hystérésis (la différence de volume entre deux courbes).

Manœuvre de recrutement par maintien de l'inspiration

Le circuit respiratoire est pressurisé de façon linéaire jusqu’à la pression cible définie par l’utilisateur en fonction de la pente définie par l’utilisateur et les changements de volume résultants sont enregistrés. Lorsque la pression atteint la cible, une pause définie par l'utilisateur est exécutée. Une fois la pause terminée, la pression est relâchée de façon linéaire jusqu'au niveau de PEP fin défini par l'utilisateur. L'intégration du débit pendant la pause correspond au volume recruté.

Disponibilité de la fonction P/V Tool

La fonction P/V Tool est disponible en option sur les ventilateurs mécaniques HAMILTON-G5 , HAMILTON-C3  et HAMILTON-C6 et en équipement standard sur le HAMILTON-S1.

Téléchargements

Brochures

P/V Tool brochure

PDF / 1.2 MB

PN 689202.03

EN

White papers

Lung recruitment maneuvers

PDF / 3.7 MB

ELO20160409S.01

EN

Bibliographies

P/V curves bibliography

PDF / 632.9 KB

ELO20160508S.01

EN

Bibliographies

Lung recruitment bibliography

PDF / 781.5 KB

ELO20160113S.02

EN

Témoignages client

P/V Tool in ARDS

PDF / 298.5 KB

2013

EN

Michael Bingman RRT, Kelly Cresci RRT, Jason Stamm MD, FCCP, Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, PA

White papers

Utilizing slow pressure-volume loops to determine optimal PEEP and improve patient outcomes

PDF / 839.2 KB

ELO20150313N

EN

Plus de téléchargements

Références

Amato MB, Barbas CS, Medeiros DM, Magaldi RB, Schettino GP, Lorenzi-Filho G, Kairalla RA, Deheinzelin D, Munoz C, Oliveira R, Takagaki TY, Carvalho CR. Effect of a protective-ventilation strategy on mortality in the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 5 fév. 1998;338(6):347-54

Arnal JM, Paquet J, Wysocki M, Demory D, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Optimal duration of a sustained inflation recruitment maneuver in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. Oct 2011 ;37(10):1588-94.

Borges JB, Okamoto VN, Matos GF, Caramez MP, Arantes PR, Barros F, Souza CE, Victorino JA, Kacmarek RM, Barbas CS, Carvalho CR, Amato MB. Reversibility of lung collapse and hypoxemia in early acute respiratory distress syndrome. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 1er août 2006 ;174(3):268-78.

Demory D, Arnal JM, Wysocki M, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Recruitability of the lung estimated by the pressure volume curve hysteresis in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. Nov. 2008 ;34(11):2019-25

Grasso S, Mascia L, Del Turco M, Malacarne P, Giunta F, Brochard L, Slutsky AS, Marco Ranieri V. Effects of recruiting maneuvers in patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome ventilated with protective ventilatory strategy. Anesthesiology. Avr. 2002;96(4):795-802. 

Piacentini E, Wysocki M, Blanch L. Intensive Care Med. A new automated method versus continuous positive airway pressure method for measuring pressure-volume curves in patients with acute lung injury. Mars 2009 ;35(3):565-70

Talmor D, Sarge T, Malhotra A, O'Donnell CR, Ritz R, Lisbon A, Novack V, Loring SH. Mechanical ventilation guided by esophageal pressure in acute lung injury. N Engl J Med. 13 nov. 2008 ;359(20):2095-104

Vieillard-Baron A, Prin S, Chergui K, Page B, Beauchet A, Jardin F. Early patterns of static pressure-volume loops in ARDS and their relations with PEEP-induced recruitment. Intensive Care Med. Nov. 2003 ;29(11):1929-35

Villar J, Kacmarek RM, Pérez-Méndez L, Aguirre-Jaime A. A high positive end-expiratory pressure, low tidal volume ventilatory strategy improves outcome in persistent acute respiratory distress syndrome: a randomized, controlled trial. Crit Care Med. Mai 2006 ;34(5):1311-8

P/V Tool

  • Respiratory mechanics maneuver that records a quasi-static pressure/volume curve
  • Easy to assess recruitability of ARDS patients
  • Simple and safe way to perform lung recruitment maneuvers
  • Can be combined with esophageal pressure measurement

Protective ventilation tool for diagnosis and recruitment

The Protective Ventilation Tool (P/V Tool) performs a respiratory mechanics maneuver that records a quasi-static pressure/volume curve showing both the inflation and deflation curves. This data can then be analyzed to determine the lung recruitability and recruitment strategy to apply.

The P/V Tool can also be used for lung recruitment maneuvers by applying sustained inflation. Once completed, the P/V Tool displays the volume of the lung effectively recruited. The P/V Tool is particularly helpful for ARDS patients, as appropriate lung recruitment and correct setting of PEEP as an anti-derecruiting force are critical.

The combination of P/V Tool and esophageal pressure measurement is useful for titrating the recruitment maneuver, allowing for the appropriate setting of PEEP and tidal volume to adequately ventilate the patient without injuring the lungs (Talmor 2008).

What customers say about the P/V Tool

Dr. Ross Freebairn

Medical Director Intensive Care Services Hawke’s Bay Hospital, Hastings, New Zealand

We have used the P/V Tool to provide a mechanism of producing a repeatable recruitment maneuver, which can be done by anybody trained in the simple art of pushing buttons.

Camille Neville

Clinical Educator for the Respiratory Department

Florida Hospital, Orlando (FL), USA

We recommend our respiratory therapists to use the P/V Tool as soon as they put the patient on the ventilator to obtain optimum PEEP. The therapists find it very helpful, especially on the sicker patients.

Ken Hargett

Director Respiratory Care

The Methodist Hospital, Houston (TX), USA

We use the P/V Tool to determine initial PEEP settings on almost all ventilator patients once they have been sedated for the intubation. We also use the recruitment portion of the P/V Tool a lot, particularly for patients who are having repeated atelectasis.

Scientific evidence

Quasi static P/V curve

  • The P/V Tool is equivalent to the CPAP method for tracing static PV curves of the respiratory system (Piacentini 2009).
  • Survival is higher with protective ventilation, including PEEP set based on LIP, than conventional ventilation (Amato 1998).
  • In ARDS patients, linear compliance of the respiratory system (Crs) is correlated with recruitability (Veillard-Baron 2003).
  • Hysteresis of the PV curve can be used to assess the recruitability of the lung at the bedside (Demory 2008).

Recruitment maneuver by sustained inflation

  • In early ARDS it was possible to open the lung in the majority of patients (Borges 2006).
  • During a sustained inflation, most of the recruitment occured during the first 10 seconds (Arnal 2011).

How the P/V Tool works

P/V Tool maneuvers can be performed with the patient connected and the patient settings intact. Normal ventilation can be resumed at any time.

Quasi-static P/V curve

The P/V Tool records the pressure-volume relation of the lungs at low flow conditions (2 cmH2O/s). The breathing circuit is pressurized linearly to the operator-set pressure target. When the pressure reaches the target, pressure is reduced back to the starting pressure. The resulting curves can be used to analyze:

  • The lower inflection point of the inflation pressure/volume curve
  • The linear compliance of the inflation pressure/volume curve
  • The hysteresis (the difference in volume between the two curves)

Sustained inflation recruitment maneuver

The breathing circuit is pressurized linearly to the operator-set target pressure at the operator-set ramp speed, and the resulting volume changes are recorded. When the pressure reaches the target, an operator-set pause is executed. After the pause, pressure is released linearly to the operator-set end-PEEP level. The integration of the flow during the pause is the recruited volume.

Availability of the P/V Tool

IntelliCuff is available as an option on the HAMILTON-G5 mechanical ventilator and is standard on the HAMILTON-S1.


Downloads

P/V Tool brochure

EN / PN 689202.03

PDF / 1.2 MB

P/V Tool in ARDS

EN / 2013

PDF / 298.5 KB

Downloads

References

Amato MB, Barbas CS, Medeiros DM, Magaldi RB, Schettino GP, Lorenzi-Filho G, Kairalla RA, Deheinzelin D, Munoz C, Oliveira R, Takagaki TY, Carvalho CR. Effect of a protective-ventilation strategy on mortality in the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 1998 Feb 5;338(6):347-54

Arnal JM, Paquet J, Wysocki M, Demory D, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Optimal duration of a sustained inflation recruitment maneuver in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. 2011 Oct;37(10):1588-94.

Borges JB, Okamoto VN, Matos GF, Caramez MP, Arantes PR, Barros F, Souza CE, Victorino JA, Kacmarek RM, Barbas CS, Carvalho CR, Amato MB. Reversibility of lung collapse and hypoxemia in early acute respiratory distress syndrome. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2006 Aug 1;174(3):268-78.

Demory D, Arnal JM, Wysocki M, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, Durand-Gasselin J. Recruitability of the lung estimated by the pressure volume curve hysteresis in ARDS patients. Intensive Care Med. 2008 Nov;34(11):2019-25

Grasso S, Mascia L, Del Turco M, Malacarne P, Giunta F, Brochard L, Slutsky AS, Marco Ranieri V. Effects of recruiting maneuvers in patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome ventilated with protective ventilatory strategy. Anesthesiology. 2002 Apr;96(4):795-802. 

Piacentini E, Wysocki M, Blanch L. Intensive Care Med. A new automated method versus continuous positive airway pressure method for measuring pressure-volume curves in patients with acute lung injury. 2009 Mar;35(3):565-70

Talmor D, Sarge T, Malhotra A, O'Donnell CR, Ritz R, Lisbon A, Novack V, Loring SH. Mechanical ventilation guided by esophageal pressure in acute lung injury. N Engl J Med. 2008 Nov 13;359(20):2095-104

Vieillard-Baron A, Prin S, Chergui K, Page B, Beauchet A, Jardin F. Early patterns of static pressure-volume loops in ARDS and their relations with PEEP-induced recruitment. Intensive Care Med. 2003 Nov;29(11):1929-35

Villar J, Kacmarek RM, Pérez-Méndez L, Aguirre-Jaime A. A high positive end-expiratory pressure, low tidal volume ventilatory strategy improves outcome in persistent acute respiratory distress syndrome: a randomized, controlled trial. Crit Care Med. 2006 May;34(5):1311-8