Solutions de ventilation intelligente

Hamilton Medical développe depuis 1983 des solutions de ventilation intelligente pour renforcer la sécurité des patients nécessitant des soins intensifs et faciliter la vie du personnel soignant.

Des solutions au service des praticiens

Les soins intensifs sont aujourd'hui confrontés à un écart sans cesse grandissant entre l'offre et la demande (Angus 2000). En outre, la sécurité du patient est devenue une priorité absolue au cours de la dernière décennie (Chan 2012). En conséquence, de nombreux médecins sont sous pression pour fournir une qualité de soins meilleure à un nombre croissant de patients complexes avec des ressources limitées.

Hamilton Medical s'efforce d'aider les médecins en leur fournissant des solutions de ventilation intelligente qui :

  • améliorent la sécurité et le confort du patient.
  • sont simples d'utilisation.
  • augmentent l'efficacité des soins.

Interface utilisateur commune Ventilation Cockpit

L'interface utilisateur Ventilation Cockpit fonctionne de la même manière sur tous les ventilateurs Hamilton Medical et ce, indépendamment du dispositif et de son utilisation en USI, salle d'examen IRM ou lors de déplacements. Des données complexes sont représentées visuellement de façon intuitive.

En savoir plus sur le Ventilation Cockpit

Modes de ventilation intelligents

Les modes de ventilation intelligents Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV®) et INTELLiVENT®-ASV de Hamilton Medical adaptent la ventilation à chaque cycle, 24h/24, de l'intubation à l'extubation, pour les patients actifs et passifs. Ils utilisent automatiquement des stratégies de ventilation protectrice pour réduire les complications associées à l'Auto-PEP ainsi que les volotraumatismes/barotraumatismes. Dans le cadre de cette ventilation protectrice, ils encouragent le patient à respirer spontanément.

L'ASV adapte en continu la fréquence respiratoire, le volume courant et le temps inspiratoire en fonction de la mécanique et de l'activité respiratoires du patient. 

En savoir plus sur l'ASV (Adaptive Support Ventilation)

L'INTELLiVENT-ASV est un mode de ventilation intelligent de nouvelle génération qui contrôle automatiquement la ventilation et l'oxygénation en fonction des cibles définies par le médecin et des paramètres physiologiques du patient.

En savoir plus sur l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

 

Outils de ventilation protectrice pulmonaire

Des études ont montré que le taux de survie était plus important avec une ventilation protectrice qu'avec une ventilation classique (Amato 1998). Hamilton Medical fournit des outils spécifiques pour renforcer votre stratégie de ventilation protectrice :

La fonction P/V Tool (Protective Ventilation Tool) fournit une manœuvre de mécanique respiratoire qui enregistre une courbe pression/volume quasi-statique. Elle permet d'évaluer facilement la capacité de recrutement chez des patients SDRA. De plus, elle fournit un moyen simple et sûr d'effectuer des manœuvres de recrutement pulmonaire.

En savoir plus sur P/V Tool (Protective Ventilation Tool)

La mesure de pression transpulmonaire peut être utilisée pour régler la PEP, le volume courant et la pression inspiratoire chez les patients souffrant de SDRA. Parallèlement à la fonction P/V Tool, il est utile d'évaluer la capacité de recrutement et les manœuvres de recrutement.

En savoir plus sur la mesure de pression transpulmonaire

 

Contrôle intégré continu de pression du ballonnet

Des études cliniques récentes ont montré que le contrôle continu de pression du ballonnet peut diminuer la micro-aspiration et la BPAVM (Lorente 2014, Nsei 2011). IntelliCuff® est un module intégré de contrôle de pression du ballonnet qui garantit une pression de ballonnet optimale.

En savoir plus sur le contrôle de pression du ballonnet IntelliCuff

Capnographie volumétrique

Le CO2 est mesuré à l'aide d'un capteur de CO2 « mainstream » CAPNOSTAT® 5 à l'entrée des voies aériennes du patient. Le capteur CAPNOSTAT® 5 fournit une mesure à la technologie avancée du dioxyde de carbone en fin d'expiration (PetCO2), de la fréquence respiratoire, en plus d'un capnogramme précis et clair à toutes les fréquences respiratoires jusqu'à 150 cycles par minute.

En savoir plus sur la capnographie volumétrique

Oxymétrie de pouls

L'intégration de l'oxymétrie de pouls SpO2 améliore les options d'aide respiratoire des ventilateurs Hamilton Medical (non disponible sur HAMILTON-C2/MR1) et constitue un paramètre important pour la ventilation en boucle fermée avec l'INTELLiVENT-ASV.  

En savoir plus sur l'oxymétrie de pouls

Références

Amato MB, Barbas CS, Medeiros DM, Magaldi RB, Schettino GP, Lorenzi-Filho G, Kairalla RA, Deheinzelin D, Munoz C, Oliveira R, Takagaki TY, Carvalho CR. Effect of a protective-ventilation strategy on mortality in the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med.  ;5 février 1998  ;338(6):347-54.

Angus DC, Kelley MA, Schmitz RJ, White A, Popovich J Jr; Committee on Manpower for Pulmonary and Critical Care Societies (COMPACCS).  Caring for the critically ill patient. Current and projected workforce requirements for care of the critically ill and patients with pulmonary disease: can we meet the requirements of an aging population? JAMA.  6 décembre 2000  ;284(21):2762-70.

Chan M. Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) [Internet]. Genève : OMS; 22 oct. 2012  [citation 28 oct. 2014]. Disponible sur : http://www.who.int/dg/speeches/2012/patient_safety_20121022/en/

Lorente L, Lecuona M, Jiménez A, Lorenzo L, Roca I, Cabrera J, Llanos C, Mora ML. Continuous endotracheal tube cuff pressure control system protects against ventilator-associated pneumonia. Crit Care. 21 avril 2014  ;18(2):R77. 

Nseir S, Zerimech F, Fournier C, Lubret R, Ramon P, Durocher A, Balduyck M. Continuous control of tracheal cuff pressure and microaspiration of gastric contents in critically ill patients. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 1er nov. 2011  ;184(9):1041-7.

Intelligent Ventilation solutions

Since 1983, Hamilton Medical has been developing intelligent ventilation solutions that provide safer care for critically ill patients and make life easier for the people who care for them.

Solutions that support clinicians

Critical care today is confronted with a widening gap between demand and supply (Angus 2000). In addition, patient safety has become a global priority in the past decade (Chan 2012). As a result, many clinicians are under pressure to provide a higher quality of care to an increasing number of complex patients with limited resources.

Hamilton Medical aims to support clinicians by providing Intelligent Ventilation solutions that:

  • Improve patient safety and comfort
  • Are easy to use
  • Increase efficiency of care

The common Ventilation Cockpit user interface

The Ventilation Cockpit user interface on all Hamilton Medical ventilators is operated in the same way – independent of the device and its use in the ICU, in the MR suite, or during transport. Complex data is integrated into intuitive visualizations.

More about the Ventilation Cockpit

Intelligent ventilation modes

Hamilton Medical's intelligent ventilation modes Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV) and INTELLiVENT-ASV adapt ventilation breath by breath, 24 hours a day, from intubation to extubation, and for active and passive patients. They automatically employ lung-protective strategies to minimize complications such as AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, they encourage the patient to breathe spontaneously.

ASV adjusts respiratory rate, tidal volume, and inspiratory time continuously depending on the patient’s lung mechanics and effort. 

More about Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV)

INTELLiVENT-ASV is a next-generation intelligent ventilation mode that automatically controls ventilation and oxygenation based on the targets set by the clinician and on physiologic input from the patient.

More about INTELLiVENT-ASV

 

Lung-protective ventilation tools

Studies have demonstrated that survival is higher with protective ventilation than conventional ventilation (Amato 1998). Hamilton Medical provides specific tools to further support your protective ventilation strategy:

The Protective Ventilation Tool (P/V Tool) provides a respiratory mechanics maneuver that records a quasi-static pressure/volume curve. It allows easy assessment of recruitability in ARDS patients. In addition, it provides a simple and safe way to perform lung-recruitment maneuvers.

More about the Protective Ventilation Tool (P/V Tool)

The transpulmonary pressure measurement can be used to set PEEP, tidal volume, and inspiratory pressure for ARDS patients. In combination with the P/V Tool, it is useful to assess recruitability and recruitment maneuvers.

More about transpulmonary pressure measurement

 

Integrated continuous cuff pressure control

Recent clinical studies show that continuous cuff pressure control can decrease microaspiration and VAP (Lorente 2014, Nsei 2011). IntelliCuff® is an integrated cuff pressure control module that ensures optimal cuff pressure.

More about IntelliCuff cuff pressure control

Volumetric capnography

The CO2 measurement is performed using a CAPNOSTAT® 5 mainstream CO2 sensor at the patient‘s airway opening. The CAPNOSTAT 5 sensor provides technologically advanced measurement of end-tidal carbon dioxide (PetCO2), respiratory rate, in addition to a clear, accurate capnogram at all respiratory rates up to 150 breaths per minute.

More about volumetric capnography

Pulse Oximetry

The integration of SpO2 pulse oximetry enhances the ventilation support options for Hamilton Medical ventilators (not available for HAMILTON-C2/MR1) and is an important parameter for closed-loop ventilation with INTELLiVENT-ASV.  

More about Pulse Oximetry

References

Amato MB, Barbas CS, Medeiros DM, Magaldi RB, Schettino GP, Lorenzi-Filho G, Kairalla RA, Deheinzelin D, Munoz C, Oliveira R, Takagaki TY, Carvalho CR. Effect of a protective-ventilation strategy on mortality in the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 1998 Feb 5;338(6):347-54.

Angus DC, Kelley MA, Schmitz RJ, White A, Popovich J Jr; Committee on Manpower for Pulmonary and Critical Care Societies (COMPACCS).  Caring for the critically ill patient. Current and projected workforce requirements for care of the critically ill and patients with pulmonary disease: can we meet the requirements of an aging population? JAMA. 2000 Dec 6;284(21):2762-70.

Chan M. World Health Organization (WHO) [Internet]. Geneva: WHO; 2012 Oct 22 [cited 2014 Oct 28]. Available from: http://www.who.int/dg/speeches/2012/patient_safety_20121022/en/

Lorente L, Lecuona M, Jiménez A, Lorenzo L, Roca I, Cabrera J, Llanos C, Mora ML. Continuous endotracheal tube cuff pressure control system protects against ventilator-associated pneumonia. Crit Care. 2014 Apr 21;18(2):R77. 

Nseir S, Zerimech F, Fournier C, Lubret R, Ramon P, Durocher A, Balduyck M. Continuous control of tracheal cuff pressure and microaspiration of gastric contents in critically ill patients. Am J Respir Crit Care Med. 2011 Nov 1;184(9):1041-7.