INTELLiVENT®-ASV®

  • Intelligenter Beatmungsmodus für passive oder spontan atmende erwachsene und pädiatrische Patienten
  • Steuert die Beatmung automatisch basierend auf Zielwerten für Ventilation und Oxygenierung und auf Patienten-Feedback
  • Verwendet automatisch Lungenschutzstrategien
  • Liefert ein automatisches Entwöhnungsprotokoll
Video abspielen

Paradigmenwechsel in der mechanischen Beatmung

Bei der Beatmung mit konventionellen Modi legt das klinische Personal die Parameter für Tidalvolumen, Atemfrequenz sowie Exspirations- und Inspirationszeit fest, um die gewünschten klinischen Ergebnisse zu erzielen, wie die ausreichende Oxygenierung und alveoläre Ventilation des Patienten.

Bei INTELLiVENT-ASV definiert das klinische Personal die PetCO2- und SpO2-Zielwerte für den Patienten. Daraufhin passt INTELLiVENT-ASV die Beatmungsgeräteeinstellungen automatisch an, um diese Werte zu erreichen, und berücksichtigt dabei die physiologischen Patientendaten (PetCO2, SpO2, Lungenmechanik, spontane Atemzüge). INTELLiVENT-ASV steuert die jeweils relevanten Parameter für die Oxygenierung (PEEP, Sauerstoff) und die Ventilation (mandatorische Beatmungsfrequenz, Inspirationszeit, Tidalvolumen und inspiratorischer Druck) automatisch.

INTELLiVENT-ASV verwendet automatisch Lungenschutzstrategien, um Komplikationen wie AutoPEEP und Volutrauma/Barotrauma zu vermindern. Zudem verhindert dieser Modus Apnoe, Tachypnoe, Totraumbeatmung und übermäßig lange Atemzüge. Im Rahmen dieser Strategien fördert INTELLiVENT-ASV die spontane Atmung des Patienten. Dieser Modus liefert ein automatisches Entwöhnungsprotokoll (Quick Wean). 

Aufgrund seiner einzigartigen Eigenschaften wurde INTELLiVENT-ASV als der beste unter den aktuell verfügbaren Beatmungsmodi eingestuft, da dieser nicht nur Sicherheit und Komfort für den Patienten bietet, sondern auch die Entwöhnung fördert (Mireles-Cabodevila 2013).

Was Kunden über INTELLiVENT-ASV sagen

Dr. Bernd Schucher

Oberarzt Pneumologie

LungenClinic, Großhansdorf, Deutschland

Wir setzen INTELLiVENT-ASV ein und ich bin mit der raschen FiO2-Reduktion sehr zufrieden. Ich würde eine FiO2-Reduktion durch INTELLiVENT-ASV auf 21% begrüßen. Ich bin mir sicher, dass Hamilton Medical dies in der Zukunft ermöglichen wird.

Laurent Buscemi

Pfleger auf der Intensivstation

Interkommunales Krankenhaus, Département Var, Frankreich

Die durch INTELLiVENT-ASV gewonnene Zeit kann für andere wichtige Aufgaben der Intensivbetreuung aufgewendet werden. So können wir uns auf die persönliche Patientenbetreuung und die grundlegende medizinische Versorgung konzentrieren.

Wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse über INTELLiVENT-ASV

Seit seiner Einführung im Jahr 2010 war INTELLiVENT-ASV bereits Gegenstand zahlreicher Studien. Darüber hinaus wurde ASV (Adaptive Support Ventilation®) als eines der Kernelemente von INTELLiVENT-ASV in über 30 Studien untersucht.

Studien belegen, dass INTELLiVENT-ASV:

  • sicher ist (Arnal 2012, Arnal 2013),
  • Patienten häufiger im Optimalbereich hält (Lellouche 2013),
  • sich automatisch an verschiedene Lungenbedingungen anpasst (Arnal 2013),
  • weniger Eingriffe durch das klinische Personal erfordert (Beijers 2014),
  • die Oxygenierung verbessert (Clavieras 2013).

Im Quellenverzeichnis finden Sie einen Überblick über die Ergebnisse der INTELLiVENT-ASV-Studien sowie die zugrunde liegenden Prinzipien.

INTELLiVENT-ASV – Quellenverzeichnis

 

Die Vorteile von INTELLiVENT-ASV

Mehr Sicherheit und Komfort für den Patienten

Bedienfreundlichkeit

Erhöhte Effizienz

Mehr Sicherheit und Komfort für den Patienten

INTELLiVENT-ASV verwendet automatisch Lungenschutzstrategien, um Komplikationen wie AutoPEEP und Volutrauma/Barotrauma zu vermindern. Zudem verhindert dieser Modus Apnoe, Tachypnoe, Totraumbeatmung und übermäßig lange Atemzüge. Im Rahmen dieser Strategien fördert INTELLiVENT-ASV die spontane Atmung des Patienten. 

INTELLiVENT-ASV hält Patienten häufiger im Optimalbereich (Lellouche 2013) und liefert eine variablere Beatmung bei spontan atmenden Patienten im Vergleich zu konventioneller Beatmung (Clavieras 2013).

Bedienfreundlichkeit

Hamilton Medical hat INTELLiVENT-ASV entwickelt, um die Beatmung zu vereinfachen. INTELLiVENT-ASV eliminiert die Notwendigkeit von separaten Modi für passive und aktive Patienten und reduziert die Anzahl der notwendigen Einstellungen, weil es automatisch und kontinuierlich die Atemfrequenz, Tidalvolumen, Inspirationszeit, PEEP und Sauerstoff-Inspirationsfraktion einstellt – auf der Basis von physiologischen Inputs des Patienten (PetCO2, SpO2, Lungenmechanik, Spontanatmung).

Erhöhte Effizienz

Studien haben gezeigt, dass INTELLiVENT-ASV weniger Eingriffe durch das klinische Personal erfordert (Beijers 2014) und damit zu einer erhöhten Effizienz in der Patientenpflege beiträgt.

Funktionsweise von INTELLiVENT-ASV

Bei INTELLiVENT-ASV sind die wichtigsten, durch das klinische Personal eingegebenen Daten das Geschlecht und die Größe des Patienten (zur Berechnung des idealen Körpergewichts) sowie die PetCO2- und SpO2-Zielwerte. Nach der Eingabe wählt INTELLiVENT-ASV die Beatmungsgeräteeinstellungen automatisch aus, steuert den Übergang vom passiven zum spontanen Beatmungsmodus und liefert ein automatisches Entwöhnungsprotokoll.

Tidalvolumen und Atemfrequenz werden durch den bewährten ASV-Algorithmus (Adaptive Support Ventilation) basierend auf dem Grundsatz der minimalen Atemarbeit bestimmt. 

Der positive endexspiratorische Druck (PEEP) und die Sauerstoff-Inspirationsfraktion (FiO2) werden gemäß der Sauerstoffsättigung im Blut (SpO2) angepasst, die mithilfe der Pulsoximetrie über einen Finger- oder Ohrensensor gemessen wird. Die Kombination aus PEEP und FiO2 wird basierend auf einer vom ARDS Netzwerk veröffentlichten Tabelle (ARDSnet 2000, Brower 2004) ausgewählt. 

Das Ziel-Minutenvolumen wird bei passiven Patienten gemäß dem ausgeatmeten Partialdruck des end-tidalen CO2 (PetCO2, gemessen über einen Hauptstromsensor am Y-Stück), bei Patienten mit Spontanatmung gemäß der Atemfrequenz angepasst. 

Das klinische Personal wählt den jeweiligen klinischen Zustand des Patienten aus (normale Lunge, akutes Atemnotsyndrom (ARDS), chronische Hyperkapnie oder Schädel-Hirn-Trauma (SHT)), um die geeigneten PetCO2- und SpO2-Standardzielbereiche zu bestimmen. Diese Standardzielbereiche können basierend auf einer klinischen Beurteilung auch jederzeit manuell angepasst werden.

Entwöhnung mit INTELLiVENT-ASV

Quick Wean reduziert die Druckunterstützung Schritt für Schritt, prüft die Entwöhnungsbereitschaft des Patienten und liefert ein automatisches Entwöhnungsprotokoll. Alle dafür relevanten Parameter sind vom Bediener konfigurierbar. Quick Wean bietet außerdem die Möglichkeit, automatisch vollständig kontrollierte spontane Atemversuche (SBTs) durchzuführen.

Verfügbarkeit von INTELLiVENT-ASV

INTELLiVENT-ASV ist als Option für das Beatmungsgerät HAMILTON-G5 verfügbar und zählt zur Standardausstattung auf dem HAMILTON-S1.

Downloads

Broschüre

INTELLiVENT-ASV Broschüre

PDF / 2.2 MB

689327.04

DE

Bibliographies

INTELLiVENT-ASV bibliography

PDF / 676.6 KB

ELO20151135S.02

EN

Mehr Downloads

Referenzliteratur

The Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome Network [ARDSnet]. Ventilation with lower tidal volumes as compared with traditional tidal volumes for acute lung injury and the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 2000 May;342(18):1301-1308. 

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Novotni D, Demory D, Lopez R, Donati S, et al. Safety and efficacy of a fully closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in sedated ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective randomized crossover study. Intensive Care Med. 2012 May;38(5):781-787. 

Arnal J-M, Garnero A, Novonti D, Demory D, Ducros L, Berric A, et al. Feasibility study on full closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective observational comparative study. Crit Care Lond Engl. 2013 Sep;17(5):R196. 

Beijers AJR, Roos AN, Bindels AJGH. Fully automated closed-loop ventilation is safe and effective in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. 2014 May;40(5):752-3.

Brower RG, Lanken PN, MacIntyre N, Matthay MA, Morris A, Ancukiewicz M, et al. Higher versus lower positive end-expiratory pressures in patients with the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 2004 Jul 22;351(4):327-36.

Clavieras N, Wysocki M, Coisel Y, Galia F, Conseil M, Chanques G, et al. Prospective randomized crossover study of a new closed-loop control system versus pressure support during weaning from mechanical ventilation. Anesthesiology. 2013 Sep;119(3):631-641. 

Lellouche F, Bouchard P-A, Simard S, L’Her E, Wysocki M. Evaluation of fully automated ventilation: a randomized controlled study in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. 2013 Mar;39(3):463-471. 

Mireles-Cabodevila E, Hatipoğlu U, Chatburn RL. A rational framework for selecting modes of ventilation. Respir Care. 2013 Feb;58(2):348-66. Erratum in: Respir Care. 2013 Apr;58(4):e51.

INTELLiVENT®-ASV®

  • Intelligent ventilation mode for passive and spontaneously breathing adult and pediatric patients
  • Automatically controls ventilator settings based on the targets for ventilation and oxygenation set by the clinician and on physiologic input from the patient
  • Automatically applies lung-protective strategies
  • Provides an automated weaning protocol
Play video

A paradigm shift in mechanical ventilation

In conventional ventilation modes, the clinician sets ventilator controls such as tidal volume, respiratory rate, and expiratory and inspiratory time to achieve clinical targets, including a certain level of oxygenation and alveolar ventilation for the patient.

With INTELLiVENT-ASV, the clinician sets targets for PetCO2 and SpO2 for the patient. INTELLiVENT-ASV then automates the ventilator controls to reach these targets while at the same time taking into account the physiologic inputs from the patient (PetCO2, SpO2, lung mechanics, spontaneous breaths). It automatically sets controls relevant to oxygenation (PEEP, Oxygen) and ventilation (mandatory rate, inspiratory time, tidal volume, and inspiratory pressure).

INTELLiVENT-ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. It also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation, and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, INTELLiVENT-ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously. It also provides an automated weaning protocol (Quick Wean).

Because of its unique characteristics, INTELLiVENT-ASV was classified as the best ventilation mode among all existing modes for providing safety and patient comfort, as well as for promoting weaning (Mireles-Cabodevila 2013).

What customers say about INTELLiVENT-ASV

Dr. Bernd Schucher

Senior Physician Pneumology

LungenClinic, Grosshansdorf, Germany

We use INTELLiVENT-ASV and I am very happy with the fast FiO2 reduction. I would love to see INTELLiVENT-ASV reducing FiO2 to 21% in the future. I think that Hamilton will make my wish come true.

Laurent Buscemi

ICU Nurse

Intercommunal Hospital, Var Departement, France

We gain time by using INTELLiVENT-ASV, which we can use to accomplish other important tasks that take place in an ICU, such as taking care of the patients and providing essential medical care.

Scientific evidence on INTELLiVENT-ASV

Since its introduction in 2010, INTELLiVENT-ASV has already been the topic of several studies. In addition, Adaptive Support Ventilation® (ASV), one of the core controllers of INTELLiVENT-ASV, has been discussed in over 30 studies.

Studies show that INTELLiVENT-ASV:

  • Is safe (Arnal 2012, Arnal 2013)
  • Keeps patients in an optimal zone more often (Lellouche 2013)
  • Automatically adapts to different lung conditions (Arnal 2013)
  • Requires fewer interactions by clinicians (Beijers 2014)
  • Improves oxygenation (Clavieras 2013)

The bibliography gives an overview of the results of the studies on INTELLiVENT-ASV and of some of the underlying principles.

INTELLiVENT-ASV bibliography

 

INTELLiVENT-ASV benefits

Improved patient safety and comfort

Ease of use

Increased efficiency

Improved patient safety and comfort

INTELLiVENT-ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. INTELLiVENT-ASV also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, INTELLiVENT-ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously.

INTELLiVENT-ASV provides more time in optimal ventilation ranges (Lellouche 2013) and delivers more variable ventilation in spontaneous breathing patients as compared to conventional ventilation (Clavieras 2013).

Ease of use

Hamilton Medical created INTELLiVENT-ASV to make mechanical ventilation easier. It eliminates the need for separate modes for passive and active patients. INTELLiVENT-ASV reduces the number of controls that need to be set, because it automatically and continuously adjusts respiratory rate, tidal volume, inspiratory time, PEEP, and Oxygen depending on physiologic input from the patient (PetCO2, SpO2, lung mechanics, spontaneous breathing).

Increased efficiency

Studies have shown that INTELLiVENT-ASV reduces the number of interventions required by the clinicans (Beijers 2014), contributing to increased efficiency in patient care.

How INTELLiVENT-ASV works

In INTELLiVENT-ASV, the clinician's most important inputs are the patient's gender and height (to calculate ideal body weight), and the targets for PetCO2 and SpO2. INTELLiVENT-ASV then automatically selects ventilator settings, manages the transition from passive to spontaneous breathing ventilation, and provides an automated weaning protocol.

Tidal volume and respiratory rate are determined by the time-proven Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV) algorithm, based on the least work of breathing. 

Positive end-expiratory pressure (PEEP) and the fraction of inspired oxygen (FiO2) are adjusted according to saturation of oxygen in the blood (SpO2), measured by pulse oximetry using a finger or ear probe. The combination of PEEP and FiO2 is selected according to a table derived from ARDSnetwork publications (ARDSnet 2000, Brower 2004). 

Target minute volume is adjusted according to exhaled partial pressure of end-tidal CO2 (PetCO2, measured by a mainstream sensor positioned at the Y-piece) in passive patients, and according to respiratory rate in spontaneously breathing patients. 

The clinician selects the patient's clinical condition (normal lungs, acute respiratory distress syndrome ARDS, chronic hypercapnia, or brain injury) to determine the appropriate default target ranges for PetCO2 and SpO2. These target ranges can always be manually adjusted based on clinical judgment.

Weaning with INTELLiVENT-ASV

INTELLiVENT-ASV provides an optional automated weaning protocol, Quick Wean. Quick Wean progressively decreases pressure support, screens for the readiness-to-wean criteria, and provides an operator configurable weaning protocol. Quick Wean also includes the option to automatically conduct fully controlled spontaneous breathing trials (SBT).

Availability of INTELLiVENT-ASV

INTELLiVENT-ASV is available as an option on the HAMILTON-G5 and on the HAMILTON-C6 mechanical ventilator and as a standard on the HAMILTON-S1.

Downloads

Brochures

INTELLiVENT-ASV brochure

PDF / 2.2 MB

689326.04

EN

Bibliographies

INTELLiVENT-ASV bibliography

PDF / 676.6 KB

ELO20151135S.02

EN

More downloads

References

The Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome Network [ARDSnet]. Ventilation with lower tidal volumes as compared with traditional tidal volumes for acute lung injury and the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 2000 May;342(18):1301-1308. 

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Novotni D, Demory D, Lopez R, Donati S, et al. Safety and efficacy of a fully closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in sedated ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective randomized crossover study. Intensive Care Med. 2012 May;38(5):781-787. 

Arnal J-M, Garnero A, Novonti D, Demory D, Ducros L, Berric A, et al. Feasibility study on full closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective observational comparative study. Crit Care Lond Engl. 2013 Sep;17(5):R196. 

Beijers AJR, Roos AN, Bindels AJGH. Fully automated closed-loop ventilation is safe and effective in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. 2014 May;40(5):752-3.

Brower RG, Lanken PN, MacIntyre N, Matthay MA, Morris A, Ancukiewicz M, et al. Higher versus lower positive end-expiratory pressures in patients with the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 2004 Jul 22;351(4):327-36.

Clavieras N, Wysocki M, Coisel Y, Galia F, Conseil M, Chanques G, et al. Prospective randomized crossover study of a new closed-loop control system versus pressure support during weaning from mechanical ventilation. Anesthesiology. 2013 Sep;119(3):631-641. 

Lellouche F, Bouchard P-A, Simard S, L’Her E, Wysocki M. Evaluation of fully automated ventilation: a randomized controlled study in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. 2013 Mar;39(3):463-471. 

Mireles-Cabodevila E, Hatipoğlu U, Chatburn RL. A rational framework for selecting modes of ventilation. Respir Care. 2013 Feb;58(2):348-66. Erratum in: Respir Care. 2013 Apr;58(4):e51.