INTELLiVENT®-ASV®

  • Mode de ventilation intelligent pour adultes et enfants passifs et respirant spontanément
  • Contrôle automatiquement les réglages du ventilateur en fonction des cibles de ventilation et d'oxygénation définies par le médecin et des paramètres physiologiques du patient
  • Applique automatiquement les stratégies de ventilation protectrice
  • Fournit un protocole de sevrage automatisé
Play video

Un changement de paradigme dans la ventilation mécanique

Avec les modes de ventilation classiques, le médecin définit des réglages sur le ventilateur tels que le volume courant, la fréquence respiratoire et le temps expiratoire et inspiratoire pour atteindre des objectifs cliniques, notamment un certain niveau d'oxygénation et de ventilation alvéolaire pour le patient.

Avec l'INTELLiVENT-ASV, le médecin définit des cibles de PetCO2 et de SpO2 pour le patient. L'INTELLiVENT-ASV automatise ensuite les réglages du ventilateur pour atteindre ces cibles tout en prenant en compte au même moment les paramètres physiologiques du patient (PetCO2, SpO2, mécanique respiratoire, cycles spontanés). Il définit automatiquement des réglages correspondant à l'oxygénation (PEP, Oxygène) et à la ventilation (fréquence contrôlée, temps inspiratoire, volume courant et pression inspiratoire).

L'INTELLiVENT-ASV utilise des stratégies de ventilation protectrice pour réduire les complications associées à l'Auto-PEP ainsi que les volotraumatismes/barotraumatismes. Ce mode prévient également l'apnée, la tachypnée, la ventilation d'un espace mort et les trop grands volumes pulmonaires. Dans le cadre de cette ventilation protectrice, l'INTELLiVENT-ASV encourage le patient à respirer spontanément. Il fournit également un protocole de sevrage automatisé (Sevrage rapide).

En raison de ces caractéristiques uniques, l'INTELLiVENT-ASV a été défini comme le meilleur mode de ventilation parmi tous les modes existants en matière de sécurité et de confort du patient, ainsi que pour l'encouragement au sevrage (Mireles-Cabodevila 2013).

Ce que disent les clients de l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

Dr. Bernd Schucher

Médecin-chef en pneumologie

LungenClinic, Grosshansdorf, Allemagne

Nous utilisons l'INTELLiVENT-ASV et je suis très satisfait de la diminution rapide de la FiO2. Je serais ravi de voir l'INTELLiVENT-ASV réduire la FiO2 à 21 % à l'avenir. Je suis sûr qu'Hamilton réalisera mon souhait.

Laurent Buscemi

Infirmier USI

Centre hospitalier intercommunal, département du Var, France

L'INTELLiVENT-ASV nous fait gagner du temps, que nous pouvons consacrer à d'autres tâches importantes au sein de l'USI, comme par exemple, prendre soin des patients et leur apporter les soins médicaux indispensables.

Expérience scientifique sur l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

Depuis son lancement en 2010, l'INTELLiVENT-ASV a déjà fait l'objet de plusieurs études. De plus, l'ASV (Adaptive Support Ventilation), l'un des principaux contrôleurs de l'INTELLiVENT-ASV, a donné lieu à plus de 30 études.

Les études montrent que l'INTELLiVENT-ASV :

  • est sûr (Arnal 2012, Arnal 2013).
  • maintient plus souvent les patients dans une zone de ventilation optimale (Lellouche 2013).
  • s'adapte automatiquement aux différentes conditions pulmonaires (Arnal 2013).
  • nécessite moins d'interventions de la part des médecins (Beijers 2014).
  • améliore l'oxygénation (Clavieras 2013).

La bibliographie fournit un aperçu des résultats des études menées sur l'ASV et de certains des principes sous-jacents.

Bibliographie sur l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

 

Avantages de l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

Amélioration de la sécurité et du confort du patient

Simplicité d'utilisation

Augmentation de l'efficacité

Amélioration de la sécurité et du confort du patient

L'INTELLiVENT-ASV utilise une stratégie de ventilation protectrice pour réduire les complications associées à l'Auto-PEP ainsi que les volotraumatismes/barotraumatismes. L'INTELLiVENT-ASV prévient également l'apnée, la tachypnée, la ventilation d'un espace mort et les trop grands volumes pulmonaires. Dans le cadre de cette ventilation protectrice, l'INTELLiVENT-ASV encourage le patient à respirer spontanément.

L'INTELLiVENT-ASV offre plus de temps dans des conditions de ventilation optimales (Lellouche 2013) et administre une ventilation plus variée chez les patients respirant spontanément par rapport à une ventilation classique (Clavieras 2013).

Simplicité d'utilisation

Hamilton Medical a créé l'INTELLiVENT-ASV pour faciliter la ventilation mécanique. Il élimine le besoin de recourir à des modes distincts pour les patients actifs et passifs. L'INTELLiVENT-ASV réduit le nombre de réglages à paramétrer car il adapte automatiquement et en continu la fréquence respiratoire, le volume courant, le temps inspiratoire, la PEP et l'oxygène en fonction des paramètres physiologiques du patient (PetCO2, SpO2, mécanique respiratoire, respiration spontanée).

Augmentation de l'efficacité

Des études ont montré que l'INTELLiVENT-ASV réduit le nombre d'interventions requises par les médecins (Beijers 2014), ce qui contribue à améliorer l'efficacité des soins prodigués aux patients.

Fonctionnement de l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

Avec l'INTELLiVENT-ASV, les données les plus importantes pour le médecin sont le sexe et la taille du patient (pour calculer le poids corporel idéal) et les valeurs cibles de PetCO2 et de SpO2. L'INTELLiVENT-ASV sélectionne ensuite automatiquement des réglages de ventilateur, gère la transition entre la ventilation passive et la respiration spontanée et fournit un protocole de sevrage automatisé.

Le volume courant et la fréquence respiratoire sont déterminés par l'algorithme Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV) bien connu, basé sur le moindre effort respiratoire. 

La pression expiratoire positive (PEP) et la fraction d'oxygène inspiré (FiO2) sont ajustées en fonction de la saturation de l'oxygène dans le sang (SpO2), mesurée par oxymétrie de pouls à l'aide d'un capteur doigt ou oreille. La combinaison de la PEP et de la FiO2 est sélectionnée à partir d'un tableau provenant des publications de l'ARDSnetwork (ARDSnet 2000, Brower 2004). 

Le volume minute cible est ajusté en fonction de la pression partielle expirée de CO2 de fin d'expiration (PetCO2, mesurée par un capteur « mainstream » positionné sur la pièce en Y) chez les patients passifs et en fonction de la fréquence respiratoire chez les patients respirant spontanément. 

Le médecin sélectionne l'état clinique du patient (poumons normaux, syndrome de détresse respiratoire aiguë (SDRA), hypercapnie chronique ou lésion cérébrale) pour déterminer les plages par défaut cibles appropriées pour la PetCO2 et la SpO2. Ces plages cibles peuvent toujours être ajustées manuellement en fonction du jugement clinique.

Sevrage avec l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

L'INTELLiVENT-ASV fournit un protocole de sevrage automatisé (Sevrage rapide). La fonction de sevrage rapide diminue progressivement l'aide inspiratoire, détecte la possibilité de sevrage et fournit à l'utilisateur un protocole de sevrage configurable. Cette fonction permet également de procéder automatiquement à des essais de respiration spontanée totalement contrôlés (SBT).

Disponibilité de l'INTELLiVENT-ASV

L'INTELLiVENT-ASV est disponible en option sur le ventilateur mécanique HAMILTON-G5 et en équipement standard sur le HAMILTON-S1.

Téléchargements

Brochures

INTELLiVENT-ASV brochure

PDF / 2.2 MB

689329.01

FR

Bibliographies

INTELLiVENT-ASV bibliography

PDF / 676.6 KB

ELO20151135S.02

EN

Pas de téléchargements

Références

The Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome Network [ARDSnet]. Ventilation with lower tidal volumes as compared with traditional tidal volumes for acute lung injury and the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. Mai 2000 ;342(18):1301-1308. 

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Novotni D, Demory D, Lopez R, Donati S, et al. Safety and efficacy of a fully closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in sedated ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective randomized crossover study. Intensive Care Med. Mai 2012 ;38(5):781-787. 

Arnal J-M, Garnero A, Novonti D, Demory D, Ducros L, Berric A, et al. Feasibility study on full closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective observational comparative study. Crit Care Lond Engl. Sept. 2013 ;17(5):R196. 

Beijers AJR, Roos AN, Bindels AJGH. Fully automated closed-loop ventilation is safe and effective in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. Mai 2014 ;40(5):752-3.

Brower RG, Lanken PN, MacIntyre N, Matthay MA, Morris A, Ancukiewicz M, et al. Higher versus lower positive end-expiratory pressures in patients with the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. Juil. 2004  22;351(4):327-36.

Clavieras N, Wysocki M, Coisel Y, Galia F, Conseil M, Chanques G, et al. Prospective randomized crossover study of a new closed-loop control system versus pressure support during weaning from mechanical ventilation. Anesthesiology. Sept. 2013 ;119(3):631-641. 

Lellouche F, Bouchard P-A, Simard S, L’Her E, Wysocki M. Evaluation of fully automated ventilation: a randomized controlled study in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. Mars 2013 ;39(3):463-471. 

Mireles-Cabodevila E, Hatipoğlu U, Chatburn RL. A rational framework for selecting modes of ventilation. Respir Care. Fév. 2013 ;58(2):348-66. Erratum in: Respir Care. Avr. 2013;58(4):e51.

INTELLiVENT®-ASV®

  • Intelligent ventilation mode for passive and spontaneously breathing adult and pediatric patients
  • Automatically controls ventilator settings based on the targets for ventilation and oxygenation set by the clinician and on physiologic input from the patient
  • Automatically applies lung-protective strategies
  • Provides an automated weaning protocol
Play video

A paradigm shift in mechanical ventilation

In conventional ventilation modes, the clinician sets ventilator controls such as tidal volume, respiratory rate, and expiratory and inspiratory time to achieve clinical targets, including a certain level of oxygenation and alveolar ventilation for the patient.

With INTELLiVENT-ASV, the clinician sets targets for PetCO2 and SpO2 for the patient. INTELLiVENT-ASV then automates the ventilator controls to reach these targets while at the same time taking into account the physiologic inputs from the patient (PetCO2, SpO2, lung mechanics, spontaneous breaths). It automatically sets controls relevant to oxygenation (PEEP, Oxygen) and ventilation (mandatory rate, inspiratory time, tidal volume, and inspiratory pressure).

INTELLiVENT-ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. It also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation, and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, INTELLiVENT-ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously. It also provides an automated weaning protocol (Quick Wean).

Because of its unique characteristics, INTELLiVENT-ASV was classified as the best ventilation mode among all existing modes for providing safety and patient comfort, as well as for promoting weaning (Mireles-Cabodevila 2013).

What customers say about INTELLiVENT-ASV

Dr. Bernd Schucher

Senior Physician Pneumology

LungenClinic, Grosshansdorf, Germany

We use INTELLiVENT-ASV and I am very happy with the fast FiO2 reduction. I would love to see INTELLiVENT-ASV reducing FiO2 to 21% in the future. I think that Hamilton will make my wish come true.

Laurent Buscemi

ICU Nurse

Intercommunal Hospital, Var Departement, France

We gain time by using INTELLiVENT-ASV, which we can use to accomplish other important tasks that take place in an ICU, such as taking care of the patients and providing essential medical care.

Scientific evidence on INTELLiVENT-ASV

Since its introduction in 2010, INTELLiVENT-ASV has already been the topic of several studies. In addition, Adaptive Support Ventilation® (ASV), one of the core controllers of INTELLiVENT-ASV, has been discussed in over 30 studies.

Studies show that INTELLiVENT-ASV:

  • Is safe (Arnal 2012, Arnal 2013)
  • Keeps patients in an optimal zone more often (Lellouche 2013)
  • Automatically adapts to different lung conditions (Arnal 2013)
  • Requires fewer interactions by clinicians (Beijers 2014)
  • Improves oxygenation (Clavieras 2013)

The bibliography gives an overview of the results of the studies on INTELLiVENT-ASV and of some of the underlying principles.

INTELLiVENT-ASV bibliography

 

INTELLiVENT-ASV benefits

Improved patient safety and comfort

Ease of use

Increased efficiency

Improved patient safety and comfort

INTELLiVENT-ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. INTELLiVENT-ASV also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, INTELLiVENT-ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously.

INTELLiVENT-ASV provides more time in optimal ventilation ranges (Lellouche 2013) and delivers more variable ventilation in spontaneous breathing patients as compared to conventional ventilation (Clavieras 2013).

Ease of use

Hamilton Medical created INTELLiVENT-ASV to make mechanical ventilation easier. It eliminates the need for separate modes for passive and active patients. INTELLiVENT-ASV reduces the number of controls that need to be set, because it automatically and continuously adjusts respiratory rate, tidal volume, inspiratory time, PEEP, and Oxygen depending on physiologic input from the patient (PetCO2, SpO2, lung mechanics, spontaneous breathing).

Increased efficiency

Studies have shown that INTELLiVENT-ASV reduces the number of interventions required by the clinicans (Beijers 2014), contributing to increased efficiency in patient care.

How INTELLiVENT-ASV works

In INTELLiVENT-ASV, the clinician's most important inputs are the patient's gender and height (to calculate ideal body weight), and the targets for PetCO2 and SpO2. INTELLiVENT-ASV then automatically selects ventilator settings, manages the transition from passive to spontaneous breathing ventilation, and provides an automated weaning protocol.

Tidal volume and respiratory rate are determined by the time-proven Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV) algorithm, based on the least work of breathing. 

Positive end-expiratory pressure (PEEP) and the fraction of inspired oxygen (FiO2) are adjusted according to saturation of oxygen in the blood (SpO2), measured by pulse oximetry using a finger or ear probe. The combination of PEEP and FiO2 is selected according to a table derived from ARDSnetwork publications (ARDSnet 2000, Brower 2004). 

Target minute volume is adjusted according to exhaled partial pressure of end-tidal CO2 (PetCO2, measured by a mainstream sensor positioned at the Y-piece) in passive patients, and according to respiratory rate in spontaneously breathing patients. 

The clinician selects the patient's clinical condition (normal lungs, acute respiratory distress syndrome ARDS, chronic hypercapnia, or brain injury) to determine the appropriate default target ranges for PetCO2 and SpO2. These target ranges can always be manually adjusted based on clinical judgment.

Weaning with INTELLiVENT-ASV

INTELLiVENT-ASV provides an optional automated weaning protocol, Quick Wean. Quick Wean progressively decreases pressure support, screens for the readiness-to-wean criteria, and provides an operator configurable weaning protocol. Quick Wean also includes the option to automatically conduct fully controlled spontaneous breathing trials (SBT).

Availability of INTELLiVENT-ASV

INTELLiVENT-ASV is available as an option on the HAMILTON-G5 and on the HAMILTON-C6 mechanical ventilator and as a standard on the HAMILTON-S1.

Downloads

Brochures

INTELLiVENT-ASV brochure

PDF / 2.2 MB

689326.04

EN

Bibliographies

INTELLiVENT-ASV bibliography

PDF / 676.6 KB

ELO20151135S.02

EN

More downloads

References

The Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome Network [ARDSnet]. Ventilation with lower tidal volumes as compared with traditional tidal volumes for acute lung injury and the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 2000 May;342(18):1301-1308. 

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Novotni D, Demory D, Lopez R, Donati S, et al. Safety and efficacy of a fully closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in sedated ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective randomized crossover study. Intensive Care Med. 2012 May;38(5):781-787. 

Arnal J-M, Garnero A, Novonti D, Demory D, Ducros L, Berric A, et al. Feasibility study on full closed-loop control ventilation (IntelliVent®-ASV) in ICU patients with acute respiratory failure: a prospective observational comparative study. Crit Care Lond Engl. 2013 Sep;17(5):R196. 

Beijers AJR, Roos AN, Bindels AJGH. Fully automated closed-loop ventilation is safe and effective in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. 2014 May;40(5):752-3.

Brower RG, Lanken PN, MacIntyre N, Matthay MA, Morris A, Ancukiewicz M, et al. Higher versus lower positive end-expiratory pressures in patients with the acute respiratory distress syndrome. N Engl J Med. 2004 Jul 22;351(4):327-36.

Clavieras N, Wysocki M, Coisel Y, Galia F, Conseil M, Chanques G, et al. Prospective randomized crossover study of a new closed-loop control system versus pressure support during weaning from mechanical ventilation. Anesthesiology. 2013 Sep;119(3):631-641. 

Lellouche F, Bouchard P-A, Simard S, L’Her E, Wysocki M. Evaluation of fully automated ventilation: a randomized controlled study in post-cardiac surgery patients. Intensive Care Med. 2013 Mar;39(3):463-471. 

Mireles-Cabodevila E, Hatipoğlu U, Chatburn RL. A rational framework for selecting modes of ventilation. Respir Care. 2013 Feb;58(2):348-66. Erratum in: Respir Care. 2013 Apr;58(4):e51.