Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV)

  • Mode de ventilation intelligent pour adultes et enfants passifs et respirant spontanément
  • Adapte automatiquement la ventilation à la mécanique respiratoire et applique des stratégies de ventilation protectrice
  • Diminue la durée de ventilation
Play video

Ventilation adaptée au patient

Tous les ventilateurs Hamilton Medical sont dotés du mode de ventilation intelligent Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV®). L'ASV adapte la fréquence respiratoire, le volume courant et le temps inspiratoire en fonction de la mécanique et de l'activité respiratoires du patient. L'ASV ajuste la ventilation à chaque cycle, 24h/24, de l'intubation à l'extubation.

L'ASV utilise une stratégie de ventilation protectrice pour réduire les complications associées à l'Auto-PEP ainsi que les volotraumatismes/barotraumatismes. Ce mode prévient également l'apnée, la tachypnée, la ventilation d'un espace mort et les trop grands volumes pulmonaires. Dans le cadre de cette ventilation protectrice, l'ASV encourage le patient à respirer spontanément. 

L'ASV est bien ancré en soins intensifs depuis 1998 et comme mode de ventilation standard dans grand nombre de services à l'échelle mondiale. L'ASV est utilisé avec succès dans plusieurs groupes de patients, notamment chez les patients ayant subi une opération chirurgicale, les patients souffrant de BPCO et de SDRA (Celli 2014, Agarwal 2013, Kirakli 2011, Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001).

Ce que disent les clients de l'ASV

Dr. Olivier Seiler

Ancien médecin-chef adjoint

Garde aérienne de sauvetage Rega, Zurich, Suisse

L'ASV, en particulier, a prouvé son utilité au quotidien. Nos équipes ne tarissent pas d'éloges à son égard. Elles disent qu'elles n'ont pas à s'inquiéter de la ventilation et qu'elles peuvent se concentrer sur le patient.

Ken Hargett

Directeur de l'unité de soins respiratoires

Methodist Hospital, Houston (Texas), États-Unis

L'ASV s'adapte aux besoins du patient en réglant en continu la pression nécessaire et en la maintenant dans une plage de ventilation sûre. Il fournit tous les niveaux de ventilation et ce, quels que soient les besoins du patient.

Craig Jolly

Coordinateur de la formation clinique pour adultes

University Medical Center, Lubbock (Texas), États-Unis

Grâce à l'ASV, nous, les thérapeutes,pouvons nous assurer que nous gérons la respiration du mieux possible pour un patient donné, à un moment donné.

Expérience scientifique sur l'ASV

Depuis son lancement en 1998, l'ASV a suscité un vif intérêt au sein de la communauté scientifique et a fait l'objet de plus de 30 études. 

Des études ont prouvé que :

  • Chez des patients passifs, l'ASV sélectionne différentes combinaisons de volume courant/fréquence respiratoire pour les patients avec poumon normal, BPCO et SDRA (Arnal 2008).
  • Chez les patients actifs, l'ASV diminue l'effort respiratoire et améliore la synchronie patient-ventilateur (Wu 2010, Tassaux 2010). 
  • En USI, l'ASV diminue la durée de sevrage chez les patients en traitement (Chen 2011) et les patients souffrant de BPCO (Kirakli 2011).
  • Chez les patients ayant subi une chirurgie cardiaque, l'ASV permet une extubation plus rapide qu'avec les modes classiques (Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001) avec moins de réglages manuels (Petter 2003) et moins de mesures des gaz artériels (Sulzer 2001). 

La bibliographie fournit un aperçu des résultats des études menées sur l'ASV et de certains des principes sous-jacents.

Bibliographie sur l'ASV (Adaptive Support Ventilation)

Bénéfices de l'ASV

Amélioration de la sécurité et du confort du patient

Simplicité d'utilisation

Augmentation de l'efficacité

Amélioration de la sécurité et du confort du patient

L'ASV utilise automatiquement une stratégie de ventilation protectrice pour réduire les complications associées à l'Auto-PEP ainsi que les volotraumatismes/barotraumatismes. L'ASV prévient également l'apnée, la tachypnée, la ventilation d'un espace mort et les trop grands volumes pulmonaires. Dans le cadre de cette ventilation protectrice, l'ASV encourage le patient à respirer spontanément.

D'après plusieurs études, l'ASV réduit la durée de ventilation chez les patients ayant subi une chirurgie cardiaque, les patients en traitement et les patients souffrant de BPCO (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003).

Simplicité d'utilisation

Hamilton Medical a créé l'ASV pour faciliter la ventilation mécanique. Il élimine le besoin de recourir à des modes distincts pour les patients actifs et passifs. L'ASV réduit le nombre de réglages à paramétrer car il adapte automatiquement et de façon continue la fréquence respiratoire, le volume courant et le temps inspiratoire en fonction de la mécanique et de l'activité respiratoires du patient. 

Des études ont montré que l'ASV requiert moins de manipulations et déclenche moins d'alarmes que les modes classiques (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014).

Augmentation de l'efficacité

D'après plusieurs études, l'ASV réduit la durée de ventilation chez les patients ayant subi une chirurgie cardiaque, les patients en traitement et les patients souffrant de BPCO (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003). En outre, l'ASV réduit le nombre d'interventions et le temps consacré à la gestion des alarmes (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014), ce qui contribue à améliorer l'efficacité des soins prodigués aux patients.

Fonctionnement de l’ASV

L'ASV maintient le volume minute défini par l'utilisateur et détermine automatiquement la combinaison volume courant/fréquence respiratoire optimale en fonction du principe d'effort respiratoire minimal décrit par Otis (Otis 1954). L'ASV prend en compte la mécanique respiratoire du patient, qui est mesurée à chaque cycle par le capteur de débit proximal. L'ASV garantit une ventilation optimale pour chaque patient dans le cadre d'une ventilation passive, d'une respiration spontanée et du sevrage.

L'ASV chez les patients passifs

Chez les patients passifs, l'ASV est un mode contrôlé en pression avec un volume cible avec ajustement automatique de la pression inspiratoire, de la fréquence respiratoire et du rapport du temps inspiratoire/expiratoire. Un volume courant maximal est contrôlé via le réglage d'une pression inspiratoire maximale. Le temps expiratoire est déterminé en fonction de la constante de temps expiratoire afin d'empêcher une distension dynamique.

L'ASV chez les patients actifs

Chez les patients respirant spontanément, l'ASV est un mode en aide inspiratoire à volume cible avec ajustement automatique de l'aide inspiratoire en fonction de la fréquence respiratoire spontanée. La diminution automatique de l'aide inspiratoire lorsque le patient retrouve son souffle est très utile pour le sevrage. L'ASV peut également être utilisé pour réaliser un essai de sevrage avant l'extubation. 

Disponibilité de l'ASV

L'ASV est disponible sur tous les ventilateurs mécaniques actuels de Hamilton Medical. 

Voir la présentation des ventilateurs

Téléchargements

Brochures

ASV brochure

PDF / 2.4 MB

689150.04

FR

Bibliographies

ASV bibliography

PDF / 737.6 KB

ELO20151136S.02

EN

Plus de téléchargements

Références

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Nafati C, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, et al. Automatic selection of breathing pattern using adaptive support ventilation. Intensive Care Med. Janv. 2008 ;34(1):75‑81.

Celli P, Privato E, Ianni S, Babetto C, D'Arena C, Guglielmo N, Maldarelli F, Paglialunga G, Rossi M, Berloco PB, Ruberto F, Pugliese F. Adaptive support ventilation versus synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation with pressure support in weaning patients after orthotopic liver transplantation. Transplant Proc. Sept. 2014;46(7):2272-8. 

Chen C-W, Wu C-P, Dai Y-L, Perng W-C, Chian C-F, Su W-L, et al. Effects of implementing adaptive support ventilation in a medical intensive care unit. Respir Care. Juil. 2011 ;56(7):976‑983.

Gruber PC, Gomersall CD, Leung P, Joynt GM, Ng SK, Ho K-M, et al. Randomized controlled trial comparing adaptive-support ventilation with pressure-regulated volume-controlled ventilation with automode in weaning patients after cardiac surgery. Anesthesiology. Juil. 2008 ;109(1):81‑87.

Iotti GA, Polito A, Belliato M, Pasero D, Beduneau G, Wysocki M, et al. Adaptive support ventilation versus conventional ventilation for total ventilatory support in acute respiratory failure. Intensive Care Med. Août 2010 ;36(8):1371‑1379.

Kirakli C, Ozdemir I, Ucar ZZ, Cimen P, Kepil S, Ozkan SA. Adaptive support ventilation for faster weaning in COPD: a randomised controlled trial. Eur Respir J. Oct. 2011 ;38(4):774‑780.

Otis AB. The work of breathing. Physiol Rev. Juil. 1954;34(3):449-58

Petter AH, Chioléro RL, Cassina T, Chassot P-G, Müller XM, Revelly J-P. Automatic « respirator/weaning » with adaptive support ventilation: the effect on duration of endotracheal intubation and patient management. Anesth Analg. Déc. 2003 ;97(6):1743‑1750.

Sulzer CF, Chioléro R, Chassot PG, Mueller XM, Revelly JP. Adaptive support ventilation for fast tracheal extubation after cardiac surgery: a randomized controlled study. Anesthesiology. Déc. 2001 ;95(6):1339‑1345.

Tassaux D, Dalmas E, Gratadour P, Jolliet P. Patient-ventilator interactions during partial ventilatory support: a preliminary study comparing the effects of adaptive support ventilation with synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation plus inspiratory pressure support. Crit Care Med. Avr. 2002 ;30(4):801‑807.

Wu C-P, Lin H-I, Perng W-C, Yang S-H, Chen C-W, Huang Y-CT, et al. Correlation between the %MinVol setting and work of breathing during adaptive support ventilation in patients with respiratory failure. Respir Care. Mars 2010 ;55(3):334‑341.

Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV)

  • Intelligent ventilation mode for passive and spontaneously breathing adult and pediatric patients
  • Automatically adjusts ventilation to lung mechanics and applies lung-protective strategies
  • Shortens ventilation time
Play video

Ventilation adapted to the patient

All Hamilton Medical ventilators feature the intelligent ventilation mode Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV®). ASV adjusts respiratory rate, tidal volume, and inspiratory time continuously depending on the patient’s lung mechanics and effort. ASV adapts ventilation breath-by-breath, 24 hours a day, and from intubation to extubation.

ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. It also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation, and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously. 

ASV is a well established mode in critical care since 1998 and has become a standard mode in many units around the world. ASV has been successfully used in a variety of patient groups — including post-operative, COPD, and ARDS partients (Celli 2014, Agarwal 2013, Kirakli 2011, Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001).

What customers say about ASV

Dr. Olivier Seiler

Deputy Medical Director (till 2014)

Rega Air Ambulance, Zurich, Switzerland

ASV in particular has proven its worth in everyday use. Our crews are highly enthusiastic about it. They say that they don’t have to worry about the ventilation and can focus on setting the patient up.

Ken Hargett

Director Respiratory Care

The Methodist Hospital, Houston (TX), USA

ASV adapts to the patient's needs by continuously adjusting the pressure needed while maintaining a safe ventilation range. It provides all levels of ventilation regardless what the patient’s needs are.

Craig Jolly

Adult Clinical Education Coordinator

University Medical Center, Lubbock (TX), USA

What ASV does for us as therapists is it allows us to make sure that we are crafting the breath in the absolutely best possible way for that patient at that time.

Scientific evidence on ASV

Since its introduction in 1998, ASV has received a lot of interest from the scientific community and has been the topic of well over 30 studies. 

Studies show that:

  • In passive patients, ASV selects different tidal volume / respiratory rate combinations for normal lung, COPD, and ARDS patients (Arnal 2008).
  • In active patients, ASV decreases work of breathing and improves patient-ventilator synchrony (Wu 2010, Tassaux 2010). 
  • In the ICU, ASV decreases the weaning duration in medical patients (Chen 2011) and COPD patients (Kirakli 2011).
  • In post-cardiac surgery, ASV allows earlier extubation than conventional modes (Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001) with fewer manual adjustments (Petter 2003) and fewer ABG analyses performed (Sulzer 2001). 

The bibliography gives an overview of the results of the studies on ASV and of some of the underlying principles.

Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV) bibliography

ASV benefits

Improved patient safety and comfort

Ease of use

Increased efficiency

Improved patient safety and comfort

ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. ASV also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation, and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously.

According to several studies, ASV reduces ventilation time in post-cardiac surgery patients, medical patients, and COPD patients (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003).

Ease of use

Hamilton Medical created ASV to make mechanical ventilation easier. It eliminates the need for separate modes for passive and active patients. ASV reduces the number of controls that need to be set, because it automatically and continuously adjusts respiratory rate, tidal volume, and inspiratory time depending on the patient’s lung mechanics and effort. 

Studies have shown that ASV requires fewer manipulations and causes fewer alarms than conventional modes (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014).

Increased efficiency

According to several studies, ASV reduces ventilation time in post-cardiac surgery patients, medical patients, and COPD patients (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003). In addition, ASV reduces workload for manipulations and alarm management (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014), contributing to increased efficiency in patient care.

How ASV works

ASV maintains an operator set minute volume and automatically determines an optimal tidal volume / respiratory rate combination based on the minimal work of breathing principle described by Otis (Otis 1954). ASV takes into account the patient’s respiratory mechanics, which are measured breath-by-breath by the proximal flow sensor. ASV ensures optimal ventilation for each patient during passive ventilation, spontaneous breathing, and weaning.

ASV in passive patients

In passive patients, ASV is a volume-targeted pressure controlled mode with automatic adjustment of inspiratory pressure, respiratory rate, and inspiratory/expiratory time ratio. Maximum tidal volume is controlled by setting a maximum inspiratory pressure. Expiratory time is determined according to the expiratory time constant in order to prevent dynamic hyperinflation.

ASV in active patients

In spontaneously breathing patients, ASV is a volume-targeted pressure support mode with automatic adjustment of pressure support according to the spontaneous respiratory rate. The automatic decrease of pressure support when the patient recovers their inspiratory strength is very useful for weaning. ASV can also be used to perform a weaning trial before extubation. 

Availability of ASV

ASV is available on all current Hamilton Medical mechanical ventilators. 

See ventilator overview

Downloads

Brochures

ASV brochure

PDF / 2.5 MB

689132.04

EN

Bibliographies

ASV bibliography

PDF / 737.6 KB

ELO20151136S.02

EN

More downloads

References

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Nafati C, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, et al. Automatic selection of breathing pattern using adaptive support ventilation. Intensive Care Med. 2008 Jan;34(1):75‑81.

Celli P, Privato E, Ianni S, Babetto C, D'Arena C, Guglielmo N, Maldarelli F, Paglialunga G, Rossi M, Berloco PB, Ruberto F, Pugliese F. Adaptive support ventilation versus synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation with pressure support in weaning patients after orthotopic liver transplantation. Transplant Proc. 2014 Sep;46(7):2272-8. 

Chen C-W, Wu C-P, Dai Y-L, Perng W-C, Chian C-F, Su W-L, et al. Effects of implementing adaptive support ventilation in a medical intensive care unit. Respir Care. 2011 Jul;56(7):976‑983.

Gruber PC, Gomersall CD, Leung P, Joynt GM, Ng SK, Ho K-M, et al. Randomized controlled trial comparing adaptive-support ventilation with pressure-regulated volume-controlled ventilation with automode in weaning patients after cardiac surgery. Anesthesiology. 2008 Jul;109(1):81‑87.

Iotti GA, Polito A, Belliato M, Pasero D, Beduneau G, Wysocki M, et al. Adaptive support ventilation versus conventional ventilation for total ventilatory support in acute respiratory failure. Intensive Care Med. 2010 Aug;36(8):1371‑1379.

Kirakli C, Ozdemir I, Ucar ZZ, Cimen P, Kepil S, Ozkan SA. Adaptive support ventilation for faster weaning in COPD: a randomised controlled trial. Eur Respir J. 2011 Oct;38(4):774‑780.

Otis AB. The work of breathing. Physiol Rev. 1954 Jul;34(3):449-58

Petter AH, Chioléro RL, Cassina T, Chassot P-G, Müller XM, Revelly J-P. Automatic « respirator/weaning » with adaptive support ventilation: the effect on duration of endotracheal intubation and patient management. Anesth Analg. 2003 Dec;97(6):1743‑1750.

Sulzer CF, Chioléro R, Chassot PG, Mueller XM, Revelly JP. Adaptive support ventilation for fast tracheal extubation after cardiac surgery: a randomized controlled study. Anesthesiology. 2001 Dec;95(6):1339‑1345.

Tassaux D, Dalmas E, Gratadour P, Jolliet P. Patient-ventilator interactions during partial ventilatory support: a preliminary study comparing the effects of adaptive support ventilation with synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation plus inspiratory pressure support. Crit Care Med. 2002 Apr;30(4):801‑807.

Wu C-P, Lin H-I, Perng W-C, Yang S-H, Chen C-W, Huang Y-CT, et al. Correlation between the %MinVol setting and work of breathing during adaptive support ventilation in patients with respiratory failure. Respir Care. 2010 Mar;55(3):334‑341.