ASV® (Adaptive Support Ventilation®)

  • Intelligenter Beatmungsmodus für passive oder spontan atmende erwachsene und pädiatrische Patienten
  • Automatische Anpassung der Beatmung an die Lungenmechanik und Anwendung von Lungenschutzstrategien
  • Verkürzt die Beatmungsdauer
Video abspielen

An die Patientenbedürfnisse angepasste Beatmung

Jedes Beatmungsgerät von Hamilton Medical verfügt über den intelligenten Beatmungsmodus ASV (Adaptive Support Ventilation). ASV passt Atemfrequenz, Tidalvolumen und Inspirationszeit kontinuierlich und gemäß der Lungenmechanik und Atemarbeit des Patienten an. ASV adaptiert die Beatmung rund um die Uhr und mit jedem Atemzug, von der Intubation bis zur Extubation.

ASV verwendet automatisch Lungenschutzstrategien, um Komplikationen wie AutoPEEP und Volutrauma/Barotrauma zu vermindern. Zudem verhindert dieser Modus Apnoe, Tachypnoe, Totraumbeatmung und übermäßig lange Atemzüge. Im Rahmen dieser Lungenschutzstrategien fördert ASV die spontane Atmung durch den Patienten. 

ASV gilt bereits seit dem Jahr 1998 als bewährter Modus in der Intensivversorgung und wird in vielen Intensivstationen weltweit als Standardmodus eingesetzt. ASV wurde erfolgreich bei verschiedenen Patientengruppen eingesetzt, einschließlich postoperativer, COPD- und ARDS-Patienten (Celli 2014, Agarwal 2013, Kirakli 2011, Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001).

Kundenfeedback zu ASV

Dr. Oliver Seiler

Ehem. stv. Chefarzt

Rega – Schweizer Rettungsflugwacht, Zürich, Schweiz

Vor allem ASV hat sich im täglichen Einsatz bewährt. Unsere Crews sind hellauf begeistert und sagen, dass man die Beatmung getrost dem Gerät überlassen und sich auf die Einrichtung des Patienten konzentrieren kann.

Ken Hargett

Leiter der Beatmungsstation

Methodist Hospital, Houston (TX), USA

ASV passt sich an die Patientenbedürfnisse an, indem es den erforderlichen Druck kontinuierlich regelt und dabei die Beatmung in einem sicheren Bereich hält. Der Modus bietet alle Beatmungsformen, unabhängig davon, welche Bedürfnisse der Patient hat.

Craig Jolly

Ausbildungskoordinator Neonaten/Pädiatrie

University Medical Center, Lubbock (TX), USA

ASV ist für uns Atemtherapeuten von Vorteil, da es uns ermöglicht, die Beatmungseinstellungen optimal auf die aktuellen Bedürfnisse des Patienten abzustimmen.

Wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse über ASV

Seit seiner Einführung 1998 ist ASV auf reges wissenschaftliches Interesse gestoßen und wurde in über 30 Studien untersucht. 

Studien belegen:

  • Bei passiven Patienten wählt ASV unterschiedliche Kombinationen aus Tidalvolumen und Atemfrequenz für Patienten mit normaler Lunge sowie für COPD- und ARDS-Patienten aus (Arnal 2008).
  • Bei aktiven Patienten verringert ASV die Atemarbeit und fördert die Synchronisation zwischen Patient und Beatmungsgerät (Wu 2010, Tassaux 2010).
  • Auf der Intensivstation verringert ASV die Entwöhnungsdauer bei Intensivpatienten (Chen 2011) und COPD-Patienten (Kirakli 2011).
  • In der Herzchirurgie ermöglicht ASV eine frühere Extubation als bei konventionellen Modi (Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001) mit weniger manuellen Anpassungen (Petter 2003) und mit weniger ABG-Analysen (Sulzer 2001). 

Im Quellenverzeichnis finden Sie einen Überblick über die Ergebnisse der ASV-Studien sowie die zugrunde liegenden Prinzipien.

ASV (Adaptive Support Ventilation) – Quellenverzeichnis

Die Vorteile von ASV

Mehr Sicherheit und Komfort für den Patienten

Bedienfreundlichkeit

Effizienz

Mehr Sicherheit und Komfort für den Patienten

ASV verwendet automatisch Lungenschutzstrategien, um Komplikationen wie AutoPEEP und Volutrauma/Barotrauma zu vermindern. Zudem verhindert dieser Modus Apnoe, Tachypnoe, Totraumbeatmung und übermäßig lange Atemzüge. Im Rahmen dieser Lungenschutzstrategien fördert ASV die spontane Atmung durch den Patienten.

Mehreren Studien zufolge verkürzt ASV die Beatmungsdauer bei postoperativen Patienten nach Herz-OPs, Intensivpatienten und COPD-Patienten (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003).

Bedienfreundlichkeit

Hamilton Medical hat ASV entwickelt, um die maschinelle Beatmung zu vereinfachen. Dadurch sind keine getrennten Modi für passive und aktive Patienten mehr erforderlich. Mit ASV müssen weniger Parameter eingestellt werden, da in diesem Modus die Atemfrequenz, das Tidalvolumen und die Inspirationszeit automatisch und kontinuierlich in Abhängigkeit von der Lungenmechanik und den Atembemühungen des Patienten angepasst werden. 

Studien belegen , dass im Modus ASV im Vergleich zu konventionellen Modi weniger Anpassungen durch den Bediener erforderlich sind und weniger Alarme generiert werden (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014).

Effizienz

Mehreren Studien zufolge verkürzt ASV die Beatmungsdauer bei postoperativen Patienten nach Herz-OPs, Intensivpatienten und COPD-Patienten (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003). Außerdem reduziert dieser Modus den Arbeitsaufwand für Anpassungen durch den Bediener und Alarmmanagement (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014) und trägt dadurch dazu bei, die Effizienz bei der Patientenversorgung zu erhöhen.

Funktionsweise von ASV

ASV sorgt für die Einhaltung eines vom Bediener eingestellten minimalen Minutenvolumens und bestimmt basierend auf dem Grundsatz der minimalen Atemarbeit von Otis (Otis 1954) automatisch die optimale Kombination aus Tidalvolumen und Atemfrequenz. ASV berücksichtigt die Atemmechanik des Patienten, die mit dem proximalen Flow Sensor mit jedem Atemzug gemessen wird. ASV stellt die optimale Beatmungstherapie für jeden Patienten sicher, ob passive Patienten, Patienten mit Spontanatmung oder Entwöhnungspatienten.

ASV bei passiven Patienten

Bei passiven Patienten ist ASV ein volumenorientierter, druckkontrollierter Modus mit automatischer Anpassung von inspiratorischem Druck, Atemfrequenz und Verhältnis von Inspirations- zu Exspirationszeit. Das maximale Tidalvolumen wird durch die Einstellung eines maximalen inspiratorischen Drucks gesteuert. Die Exspirationszeit wird nach der exspiratorischen Zeitkonstante bestimmt, um eine dynamische Hyperinflation zu verhindern.

ASV bei aktiven Patienten

Bei Patienten mit spontaner Atmung ist ASV ein volumenorientierter, druckunterstützter Modus mit automatischer Anpassung der Druckunterstützung gemäß der spontanen Atemfrequenz. Da eine automatische Verringerung der Druckunterstützung erfolgt, sobald die Atembemühungen des Patienten zunehmen, wird die Entwöhnung gefördert. ASV kann auch für Entwöhnungsversuche vor der Extubation eingesetzt werden. 

Verfügbarkeit von ASV

ASV ist auf allen aktuellen Beatmungsgeräten von Hamilton Medical verfügbar. 

Siehe Produktübersicht für die Beatmungsgeräte

Downloads

Broschüre

ASV Broschüre

PDF / 2.4 MB

689149.04

DE

Bibliographies

ASV bibliography

PDF / 737.6 KB

ELO20151136S.02

EN

Mehr Downloads

Referenzliteratur

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Nafati C, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, et al. Automatic selection of breathing pattern using adaptive support ventilation. Intensive Care Med. 2008 Jan;34(1):75‑81.

Celli P, Privato E, Ianni S, Babetto C, D'Arena C, Guglielmo N, Maldarelli F, Paglialunga G, Rossi M, Berloco PB, Ruberto F, Pugliese F. Adaptive support ventilation versus synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation with pressure support in weaning patients after orthotopic liver transplantation. Transplant Proc. 2014 Sep;46(7):2272-8. 

Chen C-W, Wu C-P, Dai Y-L, Perng W-C, Chian C-F, Su W-L, et al. Effects of implementing adaptive support ventilation in a medical intensive care unit. Respir Care. 2011 Jul;56(7):976‑983.

Gruber PC, Gomersall CD, Leung P, Joynt GM, Ng SK, Ho K-M, et al. Randomized controlled trial comparing adaptive-support ventilation with pressure-regulated volume-controlled ventilation with automode in weaning patients after cardiac surgery. Anesthesiology. 2008 Jul;109(1):81‑87.

Iotti GA, Polito A, Belliato M, Pasero D, Beduneau G, Wysocki M, et al. Adaptive support ventilation versus conventional ventilation for total ventilatory support in acute respiratory failure. Intensive Care Med. 2010 Aug;36(8):1371‑1379.

Kirakli C, Ozdemir I, Ucar ZZ, Cimen P, Kepil S, Ozkan SA. Adaptive support ventilation for faster weaning in COPD: a randomised controlled trial. Eur Respir J. 2011 Oct;38(4):774‑780.

Otis AB. The work of breathing. Physiol Rev. 1954 Jul;34(3):449-58

Petter AH, Chioléro RL, Cassina T, Chassot P-G, Müller XM, Revelly J-P. Automatic « respirator/weaning » with adaptive support ventilation: the effect on duration of endotracheal intubation and patient management. Anesth Analg. 2003 Dec;97(6):1743‑1750.

Sulzer CF, Chioléro R, Chassot PG, Mueller XM, Revelly JP. Adaptive support ventilation for fast tracheal extubation after cardiac surgery: a randomized controlled study. Anesthesiology. 2001 Dec;95(6):1339‑1345.

Tassaux D, Dalmas E, Gratadour P, Jolliet P. Patient-ventilator interactions during partial ventilatory support: a preliminary study comparing the effects of adaptive support ventilation with synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation plus inspiratory pressure support. Crit Care Med. 2002 Apr;30(4):801‑807.

Wu C-P, Lin H-I, Perng W-C, Yang S-H, Chen C-W, Huang Y-CT, et al. Correlation between the %MinVol setting and work of breathing during adaptive support ventilation in patients with respiratory failure. Respir Care. 2010 Mar;55(3):334‑341.

Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV)

  • Intelligent ventilation mode for passive and spontaneously breathing adult and pediatric patients
  • Automatically adjusts ventilation to lung mechanics and applies lung-protective strategies
  • Shortens ventilation time
Play video

Ventilation adapted to the patient

All Hamilton Medical ventilators feature the intelligent ventilation mode Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV®). ASV adjusts respiratory rate, tidal volume, and inspiratory time continuously depending on the patient’s lung mechanics and effort. ASV adapts ventilation breath-by-breath, 24 hours a day, and from intubation to extubation.

ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. It also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation, and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously. 

ASV is a well established mode in critical care since 1998 and has become a standard mode in many units around the world. ASV has been successfully used in a variety of patient groups — including post-operative, COPD, and ARDS partients (Celli 2014, Agarwal 2013, Kirakli 2011, Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001).

What customers say about ASV

Dr. Olivier Seiler

Deputy Medical Director (till 2014)

Rega Air Ambulance, Zurich, Switzerland

ASV in particular has proven its worth in everyday use. Our crews are highly enthusiastic about it. They say that they don’t have to worry about the ventilation and can focus on setting the patient up.

Ken Hargett

Director Respiratory Care

The Methodist Hospital, Houston (TX), USA

ASV adapts to the patient's needs by continuously adjusting the pressure needed while maintaining a safe ventilation range. It provides all levels of ventilation regardless what the patient’s needs are.

Craig Jolly

Adult Clinical Education Coordinator

University Medical Center, Lubbock (TX), USA

What ASV does for us as therapists is it allows us to make sure that we are crafting the breath in the absolutely best possible way for that patient at that time.

Scientific evidence on ASV

Since its introduction in 1998, ASV has received a lot of interest from the scientific community and has been the topic of well over 30 studies. 

Studies show that:

  • In passive patients, ASV selects different tidal volume / respiratory rate combinations for normal lung, COPD, and ARDS patients (Arnal 2008).
  • In active patients, ASV decreases work of breathing and improves patient-ventilator synchrony (Wu 2010, Tassaux 2010). 
  • In the ICU, ASV decreases the weaning duration in medical patients (Chen 2011) and COPD patients (Kirakli 2011).
  • In post-cardiac surgery, ASV allows earlier extubation than conventional modes (Gruber 2008, Sulzer 2001) with fewer manual adjustments (Petter 2003) and fewer ABG analyses performed (Sulzer 2001). 

The bibliography gives an overview of the results of the studies on ASV and of some of the underlying principles.

Adaptive Support Ventilation (ASV) bibliography

ASV benefits

Improved patient safety and comfort

Ease of use

Increased efficiency

Improved patient safety and comfort

ASV automatically employs lung-protective strategies to minimize complications from AutoPEEP and volutrauma/barotrauma. ASV also prevents apnea, tachypnea, dead space ventilation, and excessively large breaths. Within the rules of this lung-protective strategy, ASV encourages the patient to breathe spontaneously.

According to several studies, ASV reduces ventilation time in post-cardiac surgery patients, medical patients, and COPD patients (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003).

Ease of use

Hamilton Medical created ASV to make mechanical ventilation easier. It eliminates the need for separate modes for passive and active patients. ASV reduces the number of controls that need to be set, because it automatically and continuously adjusts respiratory rate, tidal volume, and inspiratory time depending on the patient’s lung mechanics and effort. 

Studies have shown that ASV requires fewer manipulations and causes fewer alarms than conventional modes (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014).

Increased efficiency

According to several studies, ASV reduces ventilation time in post-cardiac surgery patients, medical patients, and COPD patients (Chen 2011, Kirakli 2011, Petter 2003). In addition, ASV reduces workload for manipulations and alarm management (Sulzer 2001, Petter 2003, Celli 2014), contributing to increased efficiency in patient care.

How ASV works

ASV maintains an operator set minute volume and automatically determines an optimal tidal volume / respiratory rate combination based on the minimal work of breathing principle described by Otis (Otis 1954). ASV takes into account the patient’s respiratory mechanics, which are measured breath-by-breath by the proximal flow sensor. ASV ensures optimal ventilation for each patient during passive ventilation, spontaneous breathing, and weaning.

ASV in passive patients

In passive patients, ASV is a volume-targeted pressure controlled mode with automatic adjustment of inspiratory pressure, respiratory rate, and inspiratory/expiratory time ratio. Maximum tidal volume is controlled by setting a maximum inspiratory pressure. Expiratory time is determined according to the expiratory time constant in order to prevent dynamic hyperinflation.

ASV in active patients

In spontaneously breathing patients, ASV is a volume-targeted pressure support mode with automatic adjustment of pressure support according to the spontaneous respiratory rate. The automatic decrease of pressure support when the patient recovers their inspiratory strength is very useful for weaning. ASV can also be used to perform a weaning trial before extubation. 

Availability of ASV

ASV is available on all current Hamilton Medical mechanical ventilators. 

See ventilator overview

Downloads

Brochures

ASV brochure

PDF / 2.5 MB

689132.04

EN

Bibliographies

ASV bibliography

PDF / 737.6 KB

ELO20151136S.02

EN

More downloads

References

Arnal J-M, Wysocki M, Nafati C, Donati S, Granier I, Corno G, et al. Automatic selection of breathing pattern using adaptive support ventilation. Intensive Care Med. 2008 Jan;34(1):75‑81.

Celli P, Privato E, Ianni S, Babetto C, D'Arena C, Guglielmo N, Maldarelli F, Paglialunga G, Rossi M, Berloco PB, Ruberto F, Pugliese F. Adaptive support ventilation versus synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation with pressure support in weaning patients after orthotopic liver transplantation. Transplant Proc. 2014 Sep;46(7):2272-8. 

Chen C-W, Wu C-P, Dai Y-L, Perng W-C, Chian C-F, Su W-L, et al. Effects of implementing adaptive support ventilation in a medical intensive care unit. Respir Care. 2011 Jul;56(7):976‑983.

Gruber PC, Gomersall CD, Leung P, Joynt GM, Ng SK, Ho K-M, et al. Randomized controlled trial comparing adaptive-support ventilation with pressure-regulated volume-controlled ventilation with automode in weaning patients after cardiac surgery. Anesthesiology. 2008 Jul;109(1):81‑87.

Iotti GA, Polito A, Belliato M, Pasero D, Beduneau G, Wysocki M, et al. Adaptive support ventilation versus conventional ventilation for total ventilatory support in acute respiratory failure. Intensive Care Med. 2010 Aug;36(8):1371‑1379.

Kirakli C, Ozdemir I, Ucar ZZ, Cimen P, Kepil S, Ozkan SA. Adaptive support ventilation for faster weaning in COPD: a randomised controlled trial. Eur Respir J. 2011 Oct;38(4):774‑780.

Otis AB. The work of breathing. Physiol Rev. 1954 Jul;34(3):449-58

Petter AH, Chioléro RL, Cassina T, Chassot P-G, Müller XM, Revelly J-P. Automatic « respirator/weaning » with adaptive support ventilation: the effect on duration of endotracheal intubation and patient management. Anesth Analg. 2003 Dec;97(6):1743‑1750.

Sulzer CF, Chioléro R, Chassot PG, Mueller XM, Revelly JP. Adaptive support ventilation for fast tracheal extubation after cardiac surgery: a randomized controlled study. Anesthesiology. 2001 Dec;95(6):1339‑1345.

Tassaux D, Dalmas E, Gratadour P, Jolliet P. Patient-ventilator interactions during partial ventilatory support: a preliminary study comparing the effects of adaptive support ventilation with synchronized intermittent mandatory ventilation plus inspiratory pressure support. Crit Care Med. 2002 Apr;30(4):801‑807.

Wu C-P, Lin H-I, Perng W-C, Yang S-H, Chen C-W, Huang Y-CT, et al. Correlation between the %MinVol setting and work of breathing during adaptive support ventilation in patients with respiratory failure. Respir Care. 2010 Mar;55(3):334‑341.